Skip to content

New light

January 2, 2017

image-1

With the possible exception of Andy Murray – now SIR Andy, with a knighthood in the New Year’s Honours List to cap a year of outstanding sporting achievements – I would guess that most of us are pretty relieved to see the back of 2016.

If only the turning of the year could wipe the slate clean of old worries, old tragedies, old wars. We know it cannot, yet still we wish…while 2017 begins with yet more innocent lives taken, in Istanbul this time. The darkness seems strong in the world these days.

There are many, so many of us, though, who choose the light. It helps to remember that.

It need not be a big thing, sharing the light. Maybe you smile at the surly man behind the counter in the corner shop, reasoning that it might be the first smile he’s had all day. Maybe you send a postcard or pick up the phone to someone you haven’t spoken to for a while. Maybe you do far more than this: voluntary work, fundraising, fostering…or maybe you simply manage to bite back the sharp retort to the relative who is getting on your nerves, and give them a kind word instead. Whatever it is, it is worth doing and I salute you for it. As the old saying  goes, ‘Better to light a candle than to curse the darkness.’

My own wish for the New Year, for myself as well as for you, is this:

May your hopes be fulfilled; may your fears be unfounded; and may your courage be undaunted. 

Happy New Year!

 

 

You can find more cheering thoughts for January in Oh, what a beautiful day.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. hmunro permalink
    January 2, 2017 1:23 am

    If only the turning of the year could wipe the slate clean indeed, DB! But through your beautiful prose you’ve given us an antidote to the darkness of those old worries, old tragedies, and old wars. In the year ahead, may we each be the light we wish to see in the world. I wish you and yours a very happy, very healthy 2017. xo

    • January 2, 2017 3:48 pm

      You always find such lovely things to say, Heather! Thank you for your kind wishes. Here’s to good health! x

  2. Nancy Lemke permalink
    January 2, 2017 1:27 am

    Thank you for this and for writing again. I and most people I talk with are searching for small ways to cope with a time that seems unimaginable.

  3. Toffeeapple permalink
    January 2, 2017 8:45 am

    Ah yes, always face the light!

  4. January 3, 2017 9:56 pm

    Happy New Year and I look forward to more light-filled posts from you this year 🙂

  5. Erika W. permalink
    January 4, 2017 10:12 am

    Thank you for a beautiful message to open this new year. I have 2 difficult and kind things to do and this has brought me to the point of action with them.

    • January 12, 2017 12:59 pm

      Hello, Erika. I am honoured if my words have in any way helped you along. I hope your tasks are easier than expected.

  6. January 4, 2017 8:16 pm

    Happy New Year and a word for 2017, that if only we all would simply live. Just… love.

  7. January 5, 2017 1:20 pm

    Thank you for your beautiful words. Blessings on you and yours this year. Barbara x

  8. January 11, 2017 9:55 am

    I have recently come across your blog- a real treasury of beautiful writing. I am growing increasingly aware of the lovely hidden gems of winter. One great benefit is the space it gives for more creative reading, thinking, writing, painting and much else- all without the demands of other activities later in the year. Greetings to you from ‘sunny’ Sussex.
    – Richard

    • January 12, 2017 2:54 pm

      I’m so glad that you have found this blog, as it enabled me to find yours! Your writing has a deep resonance for me, and I look forward to reading more.

      The quiet of winter is something I love. It is the introverts’ season, perhaps: a time to reflect. As a mother of school-age children I don’t – even in winter – always have the time for creativity which I need, but I am blessed in being able to spend time with my children.

      Thank you so much for visiting!

  9. Susan Morris permalink
    January 13, 2017 5:02 pm

    Lovely to read your blog again.Kind and thoughtful words needed this coming year I feel. Happy New year

    • January 19, 2017 8:39 pm

      Aw, thank you Susan. Yes, kind and thoughtful words are perhaps needed more than ever.

  10. January 14, 2017 11:09 pm

    Wonderful to read some words from you again. Your blog is one of the few I sometimes drop by since I faded out of the blogging world. And look: Today I was rewarded with thoughtful words. 2016 was challenging indeed. Both personally as well as from a broader perspective. But when I look around, I see so many caring, good-willing people around me. We should be able to form an invisible “network”, a base for communication, empathy and community to hold against greed and violence.
    But for 2017, I wish you and your family, light, health and many moments of joy together.

    • January 19, 2017 8:41 pm

      Thank you, Diana. I’m sorry you had a difficult year, and I sincerely wish you a better one in 2017. What I notice, like you, is that the worst in some of humanity invariably brings out the best in so many others. Which is, in its way, an encouraging thought.

Leave a Reply

