Skip to content

Merry Christmas!

December 23, 2016

Well, that blogging hiatus was a leeetle longer than I intended.

After seven years (!) of blogging, it seems that I needed a seven month sabbatical. I haven’t forgotten the fellowship I found in Dancing Beastie: the support, kindness and loyalty shown by readers has helped me through some tough times, more than you might guess. Thank you.

Thank you also for kind comments in my absence. It’s so nice to be missed! While I’ve been wrestling with how I feel about blogging, I’ve turned meantime (like several other bloggers) to Instagram. You can find me there as Dancing Beastie, of course. A photo and a brief caption is easier to fit into the busy days than a blog post.

In dark and troubled times for the world, I began to wonder if a little blog about the pleasures of a quiet country life had any point anyway. Recently I came to a decision. In dark and troubled times, a little blog about the pleasures of a quiet country life is exactly what’s needed. So Dancing Beastie, the blog, remains open, however erratically.

May I wish you and yours a very merry Christmas! and may we all have peace, hope and joy in the New Year.

Version 2

A friendly Christmas robin keeps me company in the garden.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2016 9:09 pm

    I agree that it’s exactly what’s needed! Glad to see you return 🙂

  2. December 23, 2016 9:23 pm

    It’s good to see you back! Sporadic blogging is fine. You’re not obliged to prioritize blogging over other areas of your life after all. And I agree that blogging about the little joys, pleasures, and successes in life has value in this world.

  3. December 23, 2016 11:17 pm

    Welcome back! Please do post now and then, even if it’s a short one about an oddity you found in a castle drawer. X

  4. December 24, 2016 12:59 am

    Your posts are exactly what we need. Merry Christmas!

  5. boyd hussey permalink
    December 24, 2016 1:47 am

    so glad you are back. i hope it is continuous and that you are well. best wishjes to you and your family.
    boyd

  6. December 24, 2016 5:45 pm

    Alway nice to sit down and chat with friends – the time between disappears. Glad you’re doing well and always smile at your photos and posts

    Waiting for sunset on Christmas Eve is like standing toes-over-the-edge on a high diving board.
    Every year we’d cruise casually by the window to keep an eye on the sun’s progress until it was officially evening.
    Then the shout “Christmas Eve Gift!” would ring out.
    You see, the traditions says that the first person to voice that phrase on Christmas Eve to another would be graced with good fortune and joy all the next year.
    (And of course, whomever was first won. Everything was a contest…)
    It’s more difficult to be first now with caller ID.
    As all those who have become my friends in blogland are spread widely across time zones, I’d like to wish you all “Christmas Eve Gift” now.
    And as I already feel so fortunate to have such wonderful readers and writers in this neighborhood, I wish to share any phrase acquired good fortune and joy with you in thanks.
    No matter where you are or what you are guided by, hope you have a very merry Christmas and a new year full of adventure and joy.
    Peace on earth and goodwill towards all creatures great and small.

    • December 31, 2016 4:04 pm

      Wishing you find miles of smiles, intriguing wanderings, and lots of wonder in the New Year! Cheers and onward with spirit, courage, and hope.

  7. Toffeeapple permalink
    December 24, 2016 6:22 pm

    Your thoughts are definitely needed in these troubled times, even though I resolutely try to ignore the news.

    I shall try to follow you on Instagram but I am not very good with it.

    Best wishes for a very happy Christmas and an exciting new year!

  8. December 25, 2016 11:08 pm

    I’ve been missing from myblog a lot of the year too Kate. It’s Facebook for me, the distraction, but I am also missing the community and writing. I look forward to seeing you here more in 2017 and I think it is important to go at a pace that works for you.

  9. hmunro permalink
    December 26, 2016 1:17 pm

    What a delightful surprise to find your post in my reader, DB! Blogging can indeed be time-consuming, but it’s so worth it in hindsight to see what we were thinking, feeling and seeing during a particular time. And as this post will attest long into the future, you were turning away from the darkness of these times and seeking beauty and light instead. May beauty and light prevail, dear friend. xo

  10. Janet Z permalink
    December 26, 2016 3:42 pm

    So nice to have you back. What a wonderful Christmas present!

  11. Erika W. permalink
    December 26, 2016 5:53 pm

    Oh how lovely to be able to hear from you. I thought “Christmas–she will, if she ever does again…” Thank you for keeping my faith in you..

  12. maria permalink
    December 27, 2016 10:43 pm

    Im so glad you decided to continue! Its a breath of fresh air…

  13. January 1, 2017 11:21 pm

    Well hello, it’s so lovely to hear from each of you, my old blog friends! Thanks so much for stopping by again and for taking the time to write such kind messages. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

