Skip to content

Slow living and super-slow broadband

May 28, 2016

Hello, I’m still here! How have you been all this time?

It’s Saturday lunchtime  and I’m sitting in my local café with my family, on my laptop. Don’t you just hate it when people use their electronic devices at table? Normally this is an unspeakable crime in our family.

The excuse  – accepted by my family, though with a little teasing – is that we have no internet connection at home. Well, we do, but it’s so minimal as to be worthless (0.2 mbps, upload speed zero). I can’t see videos, I can’t upload photos, and in the time it takes to load a web-page, I can put the kettle on, let the dogs out, hang up the laundry, make a cup of tea and sit down again.

We are trying to fix the problem. Apart from anything else, my husband runs our business from home, so internet access is crucial. Meanwhile, oh, there’s so much to share: sunny days in the garden, bluebell woods at their height, crab apple blossom and even a slightly alarming rescue mission for a wild swan. For now, however, our lunch is here and I must rejoin the family. I hope to be back with you before much longer.

Happy days in the bluebell woods

Happy days in the bluebell woods

 

You might enjoy: an escape into the bluebell woods or Ahh, crab-apple blossom time!

 

 

23 Comments leave one →
  1. hmunro permalink
    May 28, 2016 3:06 pm

    How lovely to hear from you (and with such an adorable Westie photo, too!) — though I’m terribly sorry to hear you’ve been sentenced to a public blogging. I hope you’ll be able to resolved your technical difficulties soon, dear DB. xo

    • May 28, 2016 3:13 pm

      ‘Public blogging’ – ha, thank you for the light relief!
      Your new profile pic is a treasure. I hope you’re still looking after that adorable wee rodent that was once hmunro, though: I am very fond of her. 😉

      • hmunro permalink
        May 28, 2016 3:17 pm

        Rest assured the wee rodent is alive and well, DB! But until our national elections are over, I though I’d trot out “Little Miss Facepalm” in honor of Donald Trump. 😀

      • May 28, 2016 3:24 pm

        Ahh, now I understand. (And send my sympathies!)

  2. May 28, 2016 5:48 pm

    To be honest, I used to think it was an affectation – those who felt the need to ‘be seen writing’ with their laptops and lattes at coffee shops. Until I ended up with no internet for a few years (along with no electricity) and wrote at the coffee shops. Slightly hunched over the laptop and ashamed of my previous judging. I learned a lot of people need the white noise of a public place to write. I was never comfortable doing it though, and writing seemed stilted as a result. You have my sympathies, and hopes for a quick solution!

    • May 29, 2016 12:24 am

      Thanks, Lisa. I did feel rather self-conscious, and have never been much good at writing with distractions around me, so I hope I won’t have to do it too often!

  3. May 28, 2016 7:41 pm

    wishing for a prompt resolution.
    (I would feel weird blogging in a restaurant)

  4. May 29, 2016 2:48 am

    I hope it gets better soon. Meanwhile you are young and cool and hip! :<)))

  5. Toffeeapple permalink
    May 29, 2016 1:18 pm

    I can imagine your discomfort and hope that things improve very soon. I was in Argyll a week or so ago and the internet there was very hit and miss, it would only work if we were in the room where the router was.

    • May 30, 2016 12:13 am

      That’s what ours is like at the best of times! Rather trying, given how much we rely on it whether we like it or not. That apart, Argyll must have been heavenly this month.

      • Toffeeapple permalink
        May 30, 2016 6:45 pm

        It WAS heavenly, especially the Bluebells – everywhere, absolutely everywhere!

  6. May 30, 2016 11:40 am

    Rural broadband is a shocking problem in Scotland that nothing much seems to be happening about. Instead of banging on about land ownership, the Scottish government would do better to ensure that those trying to bring economic activity to rural areas – whoever they are – can do so in the same way as the rest of the 21st century.

  7. June 3, 2016 1:38 am

    Might be a nice reprieve to go back to slow living without internet once in awhile. Frustrating when there’s business to be done, though. Meanwhile at least you have lots of entertain you outside – Westies are such charmers

    • June 6, 2016 10:20 pm

      Ah, yes, our Westie is a real character. He’s rather an old boy these days and has several health problems, poor thing, but still a dear.

  8. June 13, 2016 7:10 pm

    Nice to have a little message from the restaurant but I know just what you mean about feeling weird. Maybe you should pretend you’re on holiday? Then it’s acceptable. But yes, rural Scotland is lagging evermore behind the times as broadband seems nearly nonexistent. Good luck getting yours to work better.

  9. September 20, 2016 4:13 am

    just checking in to see if all is ok…. miss you

    • September 23, 2016 11:50 pm

      Aw, thank you, that is so sweet of you. I seem to have taken a few months’ sabbatical: I guess it wouldn’t have happened if I hadn’t needed it! All is well really, and I am in that autumnal mood of crisp mornings which is slowly but surely tempting me to dip my toes back into blogging again. Thanks for holding out for me!

  10. Toffeeapple permalink
    October 9, 2016 3:07 pm

    Oh, that sounds hopeful, I look forward to it.

  11. December 14, 2016 10:13 pm

    May you and yours have a very happy Christmas season and many blessings in the new year! I hope to see Dancing Beastie updates again, soon.

Leave a Reply

