Skip to content

Autumn (or maybe Fall) fire

October 9, 2015

Amongst the remarkably thoughtful and generous comments on my last post, one little request caught my attention. I had mentioned ‘the scarlet leaves are already falling from the Virginia creeper which licks up the castle wall like tongues of heatless fire’. (Sorry, v. bad form to quote yourself, will try not to do it again.) And a reader from the United States simply asked, ‘Pictures?’

It’s easy to take our own flora and fauna a little for granted. I think we all do it. Yet it’s intriguing to discover what we share with other countries. The  name tells me that of course this brilliantly coloured climber must have come from North America originally, but I’d still greet it with glad surprise if I were to spot it on a building in Virginia; like bumping into a local friend in an unexpected place. I always enjoy spotting familiar flowers and trees in photos on blogs from other countries, as well as discovering what is alien to me but completely unremarkable to a local. So for Philosopher Mouse and anyone else who is interested in these things, here is our (Scottish) Virginia creeper, glowing against the castle walls in its last flickering embers.

dancingbeastie.com, 9.10.15

You might enjoy more photos of warming seasonal colour around the castle in Autumn glow.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Denise permalink
    October 9, 2015 4:57 pm

    Beautiful photograph for beautiful words. Love getting to “see” it as well as “hear” it in my mind.

  2. October 9, 2015 6:46 pm

    I love Virginia Creeper and think you are very lucky to have it creeping up your walls. I had not given it any thought before but now that you have mentioned it I do not recollect having seen any Virginia Creeper since moving to America. How odd. I have seen ivy climbing up walls but not yet any lovely Virginia Creeper.

  3. October 9, 2015 11:13 pm

    what a spectacular picture, the walls even more interesting than the flames.

    • October 11, 2015 12:06 am

      Yes, I think I should write about the walls themselves one of these days! I love the way the windows are all different sizes on the towers.

  4. October 11, 2015 12:02 pm

    I keep telling my husband that a little bit of climbing plant against the house walls isn’t going to bring the place down, and here’s proof. Mind you, I suppose your house is built a bit more solidly than our mid-1980s model.

    • October 14, 2015 11:09 pm

      The walls are pretty thick, Linda, I have to say! Photos from the late 19th C. show the place absolutely smothered in ivy, but it doesn’t seem to have done any harm.

  5. October 11, 2015 9:56 pm

    I was just admiring a splendid Virginia Creeper here in Glasgow. Lovely photo!

Leave a Reply

