Skip to content

My favourite smell

August 15, 2015

August Break day 14: my favourite smell.

I thought this would be so hard to choose: apple blossom, warm cinnamon, log fire, roses, lemon zest, seashore…but the answer came decisively. My favourite smell of all has to be English lavender, fresh from the garden. What’s yours?

dancingbeastie.com, 15.8.15

Regarding apple blossom in the garden, you might enjoy Seeing this, who could blame Eve?

You

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2015 8:28 pm

    I love the smell of fried onions actually. However, in terms of garden smells, I too adore lavender and jasmine and honeysuckle.

    • August 15, 2015 11:26 pm

      Ooh, yes, frying onions has to be one of the most mouth-watering smells!

      A couple of nights ago I was sitting outside with a friend, around 9pm, watching the pipistrelles flit over our heads. We realised that the air around us was exquisitely perfumed with a honey-sweet fragrance, and finally tracked it to the honeysuckle around the corner of the castle. I suppose that is the best time of day to appreciate it.

      • August 15, 2015 11:36 pm

        Indeed. I love all the plants that are most fragrant at dusk – perhaps because I like to sit outside as the sun sets.

  2. August 15, 2015 8:31 pm

    Hmmm, the sea has to be one of my favourites though I also love peaches and rain.

    • August 15, 2015 11:31 pm

      Rain, yes: the loamy smell of earth in the rain, especially after a dry spell. All the plants smelling vividly green. I wonder just how much our preferences are bound up with memory. Most smells which we love probably make us feel relaxed or happy for whatever reason…so I suppose there must be very different favourites across different cultures. I bet someone’s written a thesis on this!

  3. Toffeeapple permalink
    August 16, 2015 3:28 pm

    I don’t have an absolute favourite and am totally unable to decide between any sweetly perfumed fowers.

  4. August 16, 2015 10:31 pm

    now I realise I forgot to smell the appleblossom when we had it. Silly!
    Freesias are blooming, and that’s delicious.

    • August 19, 2015 12:06 am

      Freesias are wonderful, aren’t they? How lovely to be able to grow them at home – it’s too cold for them here.

  5. August 17, 2015 7:03 pm

    I have a lot of favorite smells; choosing one would be difficult. My top smells would be natal plum flowers, lavender (yes!), the glossy pages of a National Geographic magazine, and jasmine tea.

    • August 19, 2015 12:07 am

      I like your selection! Old books (and indeed new books) would be a favourite smell of mine too, so I understand the attraction of the smell of a good magazine.

  6. August 18, 2015 10:37 pm

    One of my most favourite smells is white lilac. I sometimes recall it in order to calm down…

    • August 19, 2015 12:09 am

      Oh, heavenly white lilac! Thank you for reminding me of another favourite. Surely angels’ wings must smell something like that.

  7. August 19, 2015 8:09 pm

    We LOVE lavender in our household, too. I grew several plants in my old garden and harvested many lovely stems of flowers over the years. I still have a wreath I created out of the dried lavender flower stalks I harvested a few years ago – it is time to make a new one as this one is becoming quite fragile. Looking forward to planting a new crop in the new garden next spring!

    • August 19, 2015 8:54 pm

      The wreath sounds beautiful. My house, too, is full of dried lavender in bowls, lavender bags in cupboards, old lavender stems in flower arrangements… 🙂

Leave a Reply

