Skip to content

Summer solstice

June 22, 2015

As you might have gathered if you have been kind enough to drop in here over the past month, I seem to be having various ish-yoos with blogging this year. It’s not that I don’t want to write: many posts are begun in my head. For some reason, however, they are not reaching the finished and published stage. I am trying to work out the reasons for this, and what to do about it. It is, I think, a mixture of health problems, an ambivalence of attitude, and other distractions. I’m sure many – most? – other bloggers encounter the same sort of thing from time to time.

I have not forgotten the pleasure afforded by regular blogging, especially through the interaction with fellow-bloggers and readers. If I can sort myself out, I hope to rejoin the conversation!

Meanwhile, the natural world affords as much wonder as ever to me here in Scotland. The first half of the year having been mostly pretty cold and wet, our growing season is late. June’s roses are as yet only in bud, while May’s bluebells still scent the woods at midsummer. An osprey, a summer visitor to the river, mews high over my head in the early mornings when I take the dogs out. Red squirrels scrabble up the tree-trunks of oak and yew, chittering crossly at us as we pass underneath. On these cool evenings of early summer, the eye is dazzled by sun breaking through clouds onto the lochan beyond the trees. Let’s hope this gleam of solstice sunshine is a forerunner for more to come – and I will do my best to share a bit more with you, too.

dancingbeastie.com,21.6.15

You  might enjoy Suddenly, midsummer.

33 Comments leave one →
  1. boyd permalink
    June 22, 2015 3:51 am

    that is such a striking photograph. the light is so strong. i hope you remain well and the current blockage clears up. not totally selfish of me but you do bring pleasure to my corner. i wish there were some way to return it. even at this, and i am sure farther distances, you are important to us all.

  2. June 22, 2015 4:45 am

    Beautiful photo as always.

  3. June 22, 2015 8:24 am

    Dear Dancing Beastie: always good to hear from you and it seems as if you are in much the same place as me, in terms of blogging, and for similar reasons. Nothing posted for months but with many posts written and remaining in my head rather than being transposed to the web-page. I also miss the online conversation with readers and other bloggers. I don’t think there is an obvious solution to this – just to write as and when we can . . . and to accept that, sometimes, we all need breathing spaces. DX

    • June 24, 2015 11:19 pm

      How nice to hear from you, D; I have thought of you in your own blogging silence…
      Your calm wisdom is just what I need to hear.

  4. aduke2015 permalink
    June 22, 2015 9:15 am

    Thanks you for sharing this glorious photograph and your inner issues. I am sure that you will work it through an be happy with the result. Good wishes to you

  5. hmunro permalink
    June 22, 2015 10:55 am

    I’ll (selfishly) admit I’ve missed your regular posts because they’re always so full of beauty and wonder. But I also understand how much energy it can take to translate one’s thoughts into a blog post — and that sometimes it can seem like *too much* effort, when weighed against life’s many other demands. So don’t worry about it. Just get out there and enjoy the warm sunshine on your skin, the exuberance of the dogs’ romping, and the chattering of the red squirrels high up in the trees. Your community of faithful readers will stick by you, no matter how far you wander, and we’ll always welcome you back. xx

    • June 24, 2015 11:24 pm

      Aw, bless you, thanks Heather. 🙂 I’m in awe of how you manage to keep producing beautiful/ funny/ thought-provoking posts month after month. It must be the journalistic discipline in you: I could do with some of that! Meanwhile, I’ll certainly do my best to post when inspiration sticks around long enough for me to get it down.

      • hmunro permalink
        June 27, 2015 3:44 pm

        You have absolutely made my WEEK with your kind (and terribly generous) description of my posts, DB! But make no mistake: Writing is like trying to squeeze juice out of a stone, sometimes. When I’m short on energy — or long on obligations — blogging is often the first thing to go. So, in spite of appearances otherwise, know you’re not alone! And know that whenever you do find the time and/or inspiration to post (even if it’s just one photo) your readers will be happy to hear from you. You are loved around these parts, you know … xx

  6. Toffeeapple permalink
    June 22, 2015 1:58 pm

    That picture has taken my breath away, Scotland the beautiful. And, still Bluebells, what a blessing.

    Take your time, we are a patient following. Be well.

    • June 24, 2015 11:25 pm

      You are a lovely following. I am lucky to have found such a special group of readers. Thank you.

  7. June 22, 2015 3:29 pm

    Such a paradise you live in! Thanks for sharing the words and photo.

    I have been in a similar place with blogging — I thought the dry spell would end with the winter, but no luck. I’m still posting, but do not like what I’m writing. I only post because I feel I have to – some sort of discipline.

    One thing I tried for a few posts, which was fun, was doing a stream of consciousness blog based on a favorite or interesting word. Totally different and no pressure. They went where they were supposed to go. You might try it, just to keep yourself writing. Here’s one:

    https://melanielynngriffin.wordpress.com/2015/02/27/syntax-serenity-and-spiritual-ratiocination-say-that-out-loud-three-times/

    Blessings – don’t pressure yourself. 🙂

    • June 24, 2015 11:27 pm

      Thanks for the idea, Melanie, I need to look into that! I hope your own green spring of inspiration returns to you.

  8. June 22, 2015 6:50 pm

    Beautiful photo and mental images, I hope that summer energy helps you resolve those blogging issues 🙂

    • June 24, 2015 11:28 pm

      Thank you, Andrea. I realised last month that the Beltane energy no longer feels my own: I have moved into Lammas energies now. I need to learn to understand this stage. 🙂

  9. June 22, 2015 10:58 pm

    I need to bring my 2 pots of bluebells to the screen – see – that’s what you should do!!

    • June 24, 2015 11:30 pm

      Now that is a great idea, Diana! Flowers, a scented candle lit – the sacred rituals of blogging. 🙂

  10. Caroline Waterlow permalink
    June 22, 2015 11:08 pm

    Always enjoy your posts. And this one no less than the others with its lovely photo. Your blogs are considered, crafted and full of heart, and I quite understand the feelings behind what you are considering as a blip. I think there is the misunderstanding that anything creative flows smoothly and easily. a nice thing to do. But we are of the stuff of the earth as well, and it can weigh us down. Matisse said ‘ I have always tried to hide my own efforts and wanted my work to have the light of joyousness of springtime which never lets anyone suspect the labour it has cost.’ All best wishes to you.

    • June 24, 2015 11:31 pm

      Thank you so much for your wise and generous words, Caroline. Matisse certainly succeeded in his intention, didn’t he!

  11. June 23, 2015 4:09 am

    Beautiful scene!

  12. June 23, 2015 7:34 am

    Much as you enjoy your blogging, if you’re of a similar mind to me it becomes a commitment and if inspiration/inclination are lacking then guilt creeps in. Stop that. Go and enjoy our sunshine (when it arrives) and do other things. It will give your imagination time to run riot, not run dry! Your followers will still be here – and possibly doing the same as you. Gorgeous photos, as always 😀

  13. June 24, 2015 8:15 am

    Recently I have neglected my other blog, Jo’s Journal, for about six weeks at a time, and I realised that it doesn’t help to feel guilty. Life moves you on to new interests and you have to let them develop! I agree with Jo Graham, above. PS I am still coming in to the RSGS on and off – it will be a bit mixed up next week because of the Scone Game Fair but in July/Aug it would be nice to meet up at some stage! 🙂 Alternatively if you’re at the Game Fair do drop by and say hello!

    • June 24, 2015 11:35 pm

      Yes, you are right about guilt and everything, life is constant flux. We are hoping to get to the Game Fair on Friday (my M.E. permitting): if we do I will try to get over to say hello, it would be a treat to meet up!

  14. Erika W. permalink
    July 8, 2015 10:26 am

    Dear Dancing Beastie,

    This response group is its own small blog and I hope you are aware of how many friends you have out here on the wind. Never get into an apologetic mode–there is no need. I think about you often and look in every Tuesday, which used to be your special day, and in between, as now.

    I am still a snail mail writer with a circle of friends as old as myself (70s and 80s) and we know so well how tiredness, ill health or sadness can stop the flow. But we always com back en-heartened as do you.

    I snd my best wishes to you and to your family.

    • July 11, 2015 11:48 pm

      How right you are, Erika, in this group forming a little blog in itself. Indeed, I often think that the comments are the most precious bit of blogging. I am touched and humbled by the kindness of strangers shown here; strangers who have become simply friends I have not met yet.

      Thank you for your kind and wise words, so typical of you. (Apart from anything else, you inspire me to make more effort again on Tuesdays!) Your gentle voice has been a guide to me through many ups and downs. My very best wishes to you too.

  15. July 10, 2015 10:43 pm

    an evening by myself…a friend on facebook…christoph waltz explaining ” Krampus” to jimmy fallon ( check out on you tube, its hilarious), wintersolstice, beltane, dancing beastie…see: I wander over now and then, to catch up and read a new post….it’s never about the quantity, just about the quality…and the wonderfull pictures. Have a good Week-end!

    • July 12, 2015 12:02 am

      Aw, thanks so much, Diana. I watched that clip…oh my goodness, so freaky, remind me never to be in rural Austria on the eve of St. Nicolas’s Day! (Do they do that in Bavaria too?)
      Thanks for making me laugh – you have a good weekend too. 🙂

  16. July 16, 2015 5:39 pm

    Such a beautiful photo Kate. I struggle with writing posts too… I started the year with three planned posts each month to help give me structure and while two of these have remained constant the other has temporarily slipped and I am not liking that these dominate most my posts. I love spontaneity and writing from the heart…. and I know oh so well of all the times I have written inside my head only to loose it or leave it there. It’s always lovely to read your posts and they should not be done under duress or obligation. So enjoy that beautiful Scottish landscape – I can’t believe you still have bluebells!!

    • July 17, 2015 9:34 am

      Thanks Sandie. I suppose all bloggers encounter these difficulties sometimes, but it’s comforting to know I’m in good company one way or the other!

      The bluebells are long gone now, but I was still finding them in cool wet corners of the woods until late into June. Now we have elderflower, buttercups and the first late summer flowers beginning to appear: ragwort and rosebay willow herb. The year rolls on…

Leave a Reply

