Skip to content

Cherry blossom, soft rain

April 10, 2014

Please excuse my non-existent erratic blogging at the moment: it is the school holidays. Ideas evaporate unwritten while chores and family life take up my time. Meanwhile, the outside world grows more green and lovely every day; April is looking just as it should, with daffodils in full bloom everywhere and more flowers opening daily in the garden: hyacinths and Japonica and tiny forget-me-nots, primula and flamboyant Magnolia stellata. Best of all, the cherry trees have blossomed this week. I know my last entry was about pink flowers, but I’m going to have to give you some more. Cherry blossom time waits for no blogger, and I can’t let it pass uncelebrated.

First, the wild ones. Down by the river at the very end of March, I was thrilled to spot some wild cherries already flowering. I brought a spray home to admire for three or four days.

 

dancingbeastie.com, 10.4.14-1

 

 

Don’t you think that these blossoms are exquisite in their perfect simplicity? I do.

 

dancingbeastie.com, 10.4.14-2

 

 

But then, I love the cultivated varieties too. There is a new sapling in the garden which is much more pink and frilly, each blossom like a fairy’s ballet tutu.

 

dancingbeastie.com,10.4.14-4

 

My favourite cherry blossoms, however, are on the little tree by the garden gate: pink but not too pink, frilly but not too frilly. When I refer to cherry blossom time, this is the tree I’m thinking of.

 

dancingbeastie.com,10.4.14-3

 

On a peaceful April afternoon earlier this week, I stopped to photograph it and to drink in this fleeting beauty, while a blackbird’s song  was filling the garden and a gentle rain was falling.

 

dancingbeastie.com,10.4.14-5

 

 

Lichen curls from the bark, its pale green complementing the soft pink of the blossom.

 

dancingbeastie.com,10.4.14-6

 

 

The flowers catch raindrops on their petals. Already the petals themselves are beginning to fall; but for now, this must be the most beautiful rain of the year.

 

dancingbeastie.com,10.4.14-7

 

 

dancingbeastie.com,10.4.14-8

 

 

If you love the cherry blossoms as much as I do, you can find a post about them here from 2011 and here from 2012.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2014 8:54 pm

    I really love the photo with the blossoms and the lichens. Thank you!

  2. Toffeeapple permalink
    April 12, 2014 11:40 am

    Magnificent Lichens! Cherry blossom is gorgeous.

  3. hmunro permalink
    April 12, 2014 3:06 pm

    That second photo is worthy of publication in a magazine or calendar, DB. Well done! And the rest of your wonderful post is worthy of being bookmarked and revisited again and again. It’s so evocative I can practically smell the blossoms and feel the cool rain. Just lovely …

    • April 13, 2014 12:11 am

      High praise indeed, thank you so much! Glad you enjoyed the blossoms. They do smell wonderful, as I noticed only this year: sweet and peppery…mmm.

  4. April 12, 2014 4:34 pm

    Beautiful! I do so love cherry blossom – I’ve seen so many trees in blossom in recent weeks that it almost took me by surprise, but the three wild cherries in our nearby park are just about to come into bloom, something to look forward to.

    • April 13, 2014 12:16 am

      Certainly the wild cherries are out earlier here than usual. It feels like a grace when they flower.

  5. April 12, 2014 6:59 pm

    How very beautiful! Such exquisite photos, especially the one with the raindrops. I love cherry blossoms too, and (like you) I really don’t know if I like the wild ones or ‘double’ ones the best. I was photographing quite a dark pink one in a garden by Loch Etive yesterday.
    The spray in the vase looks just like a still life painting – beautifully arranged (or placed, might be a better word!) 🙂

    • April 13, 2014 12:17 am

      Glad you enjoyed them. I must admit that the spray in the vase arranged itself: it took me a moment to realise that it looked far better as it was than as I could have ‘organised’ it!

  6. April 12, 2014 10:38 pm

    Gorgeous – who could stay inside with all those fairies dancing?

  7. April 14, 2014 8:16 am

    Exquisite. You didn’t quickly paint the wall pink to match the blossom, did you?!

    • April 14, 2014 4:42 pm

      Damn, you got me. 😉
      When we moved here, I painted so many rooms either pink or yellow in an attempt to brighten them up that my husband said we should rename the castle Schloss Battenburg – like the cake.

  8. Henrietta permalink
    April 14, 2014 5:50 pm

    The simplicity of the wild one trumps the cultivated ones for me. In the same way that I would rather a primrose than a polyanthus.

    Your post reminded me of the poem; “Lovliest of trees, the cherry now…………. It is in my head whenever the cherry blossom is out. Also “Oh to be in England, now that Aprils there” and it is looking glorious at the moment. I even heard the cuckoo yesterday!

  9. April 17, 2014 11:20 pm

    What beautiful photos of that exquisite blossom at the peak of its perfection. I love the clarity of your observation in the details of the lichen and the raindrops and the shot of the blue vase with a spray of blossom has something of Vermeer in it.

Leave a Reply

