Skip to content

A Highland Half Term

May 31, 2013

It’s that time of year again: summer half term for one child, Sports Day tomorrow for the other. Unlike in previous years, I have even managed to get my act together and volunteer to do something useful at Sports Day. So we are busy busy this week and blogging must wait.

Ah, but last weekend. Last weekend we did something I try not to do: took younger child out of school, so that we could have a long weekend away. Well, his elder brother would have been kicking his heels at home all week otherwise, and I had a sudden, urgent need to get over to the West Highlands for some coastal living. So off we went to Wester Ross and some of the most ridiculously beautiful parts of Scotland, with lochs, islands, mountains, palm trees (!) and a Monday morning exploring that castle, of ‘Highlander’ and James Bond fame. It was bliss. I’ll tell you more next week.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You can find that castle in winter light in The Road to the Isles.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2013 2:14 am

    Well done for pulling your younger child out of school. We do it all the time. We usually ask for homework to take and our children end up ahead of their classmates everytime. Our theory is they learn more from seeing the world than reading about it.

    • June 4, 2013 11:52 pm

      I do agree, Deb. We spent Monday exploring the living history of a highland castle. The boys had quiz sheets to fill in, got to feel the weight of a cannonball from the siege of 1715 and try to lift a claymore that was taller than them. A history lesson they won’t forget in a hurry, I think!

  2. May 31, 2013 10:07 am

    Sounds like a wonderful and much-needed break! Looking forward to seeing your pics when you have time. Good luck on sports day, especially in any Mums’ races!

    • June 4, 2013 11:53 pm

      Thanks, Jo. As far as I’m concerned, one of the best things about being an adult is that no-one can make me do a race ever again! 😀

  3. Toffeeapple permalink
    May 31, 2013 3:25 pm

    I just got back from Argyll and Bute – it was stunningly beautiful there too.

  4. May 31, 2013 9:53 pm

    Palm trees? It does look beautiful ( we have similar boats – but it’s flat here – perfectly flat)
    Nice to have a family trip – sometimes school work can wait. Have a nice weekend

    • June 4, 2013 11:55 pm

      I’m not very good at flat landscapes: I need hills and mountains, which Wester Ross has in abundance. Hope to show you a bit soon!

  5. Erika W. permalink
    June 3, 2013 2:59 pm

    You take me back to the Highlands; Thank you, thank you.

    By the way your Mount Toblerone is surely what my great-uncle-in-law called The Beuckle ?

    • June 5, 2013 12:22 am

      Hope to bring you more soon! I’ve been doing a bit of research on Mt. Toblerone, and I think it’s really called Faochag, a Gaelic word I’ve not come across before. (I think I prefer my name for it. 😉 )

  6. June 4, 2013 3:13 pm

    Well done, DB, a good decision and the weather has surely rewarded you. Such a shame that the boys’ half-terms don’t coincide.

    • June 5, 2013 12:23 am

      Sigh, yes, it is a bit of a pain, but we hope they will be at the same school as each other in another year.

Leave a Reply

