Skip to content

Validation: a postscript

February 25, 2013

It has been a great pleasure to read your comments on my previous post, Validation. What a wealth of wisdom and a generosity of spirit is shown in them. Thank you.

I have just one addition to the topic, and it is not my own. A couple of weeks ago, my parish priest gave me a little booklet of daily prayers and meditations for Lent. I opened it today and read this, by St. Francis de Sales (1567-1622):

‘Don’t sow your desires in someone else’s garden; just cultivate your own as best you can.
Don’t long to be other than what you are, but desire to be thoroughly what you are.’

Just what I needed to hear today.

dancingbeastie.com, 25.2.13

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2013 1:39 pm

    Wise words indeed. Thankyou!

  2. February 25, 2013 3:21 pm

    Hope you plan to share other quotations. That one was perfect for here, too.

  3. February 25, 2013 3:36 pm

    Oh, I like that, DB!

  4. February 26, 2013 10:42 am

    So much wisdom, expressed with such grace. I love it when words from so long ago strike such a deep chord. Thank you!

  5. February 27, 2013 11:05 pm

    but do not wait for tomorrow! You can do it, taking your path. I mean it. No slogans.

  6. February 28, 2013 2:21 am

    “To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.”
    ― Ralph Waldo Emerson
    Blessings!

Leave a Reply

