Skip to content

Tarka the puppy discovers snow

December 4, 2012

Yes, I know we were going to discuss those poems. But first I just have to share this moment of deliciousness with you.

We woke up to the first snowfall of winter yesterday morning. Tarka, being only three and a half months’ old, has never encountered the white stuff before. I’m not sure who enjoyed our morning walk more: her, overcoming her initial suspicion and discovering all the fun to be had in the snow, or me, laughing at her enthusiasm and trying to keep up with my camera as she galloped about in the powder.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dancing Beastie 3.12.12/2

 

dancingbeastie.com, 4.12.12-1

 

dancingbeastie.com, 4.12.12-2

 

dancingbeastie.com, 4.12.12-3

 

dancingbeastie.com,4.12.12.-4

 

dancingbeastie.com,4.12.12-5

 

If you read my previous puppy posts, you’ll notice how fast she is growing. Indoors, she is still the baby of the family: outside, she is already a young dog with fully-formed instincts. Much training (and frustrated bellowing from mum!) ahead for us over the next few months, I think. And much fun too: it is snowing heavily again this morning. Our Westie stays curled up by the wood stove on days like this, but Tarka and I am looking forward to our walks this winter.

dancingbeastie.com,4.12.12-6

 

You might enjoy First snow.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2012 2:24 pm

    Delightful and amusing again. When I see these photographs I feel like I have the joy of owning a puppy and none of the responsibility. But once again , it is the ears flying when she runs that make me laugh

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      December 4, 2012 4:30 pm

      Yes, the ears do it for me too!

  2. hmunro permalink
    December 4, 2012 3:13 pm

    Those ears! That face! That little tufted, wagging tail!! Your wee girl is almost unbearably adorable. Thanks for starting my day with a smile.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      December 4, 2012 4:32 pm

      Happy to help, ma’am!
      Sometimes I think, ‘Shall I try to craft an intelligent critical commentary on current affairs?’ and then I think, ‘Nahh…more puppy pictures’. 😀

      • hmunro permalink
        December 4, 2012 7:38 pm

        YEAAAHHH! More puppy pictures!! They’re a most potent antidote against current affairs. 😀

  3. Liz permalink
    December 4, 2012 3:51 pm

    I love taking the dogs out in the snow. They seem to enjoy it so much, rather like children (and me) really. Have you ever noticed how much their sense of smell is heightened when it’s frosty?

    PS Love the snowfall on your blog

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      December 4, 2012 4:41 pm

      That’s very interesting about their sense of smell – I must confess I hadn’t noticed. It’s always fun watching how exhilarated they get in the snow, isn’t it.

      I signed up for the snowfall a few years ago, and it comes on automatically now every December – love it!

  4. December 4, 2012 6:07 pm

    Love the puppy dance in the snow! Flyaway ears!

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      December 4, 2012 10:49 pm

      You noticed the dancing too! Isn’t it priceless?

  5. December 4, 2012 8:31 pm

    Oh, what a perfect combination – a puppy and snow! 🙂 Particularly a little black puppy with flyaway ears and endless energy….. Actually, I noticed straightaway how much she has grown. they aren’t babies for long.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      December 4, 2012 10:51 pm

      Really, how could I resist taking photos and posting them. I knew that they would make people smile. 🙂

  6. December 4, 2012 9:19 pm

    That little cap of snow on the nose is delightful!
    But did Tarka manage to escape without the curse of snowballed paws?

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      December 4, 2012 10:52 pm

      Yes, I loved the snowy nose. I dread the snowball effect – it happens to both Westies and cockers – but luckily this was the ‘wrong (or right) kind of snow’ and there wasn’t a snowball to be seen.

Trackbacks

  1. A snowy spring | Dancing Beastie
  2. Curiouser and curiouser | Dancing Beastie
  3. Wimbledon for dogs | Dancing Beastie
  4. This is more like it… | Dancing Beastie

Leave a Reply

