Skip to content

Tuesday trees: in conversation

November 27, 2012

This late in the year it is only the oaks, of the deciduous trees, that still have any foliage worth mentioning. At the edge of the woods, the sun slants across the field to kindle their leaves to flame. Warming themselves before the tawny glow, the beech, pine and oak lean this way and that, nodding gravely to each other in a conversation of such leisurely length that only the trees can follow it.

If you are fond of Entish fancies, you might like Do the twist.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2012 7:38 pm

    I’ve been reading your blog forever, and love it. I’ve started a small blog recently myself and now that I have a blogger ID I can comment on your posts!

    I would also like to nominate you for a Liebster Award. Details here:
    http://luffymoogan.wordpress.com/2012/11/27/luffy-and-the-liebster-award/
    I do hope that you feel that you can accept.

    best wishes, Luffy

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 27, 2012 8:35 pm

      Hello Luffy, it’s so nice to ‘meet’ a reader! I always wonder about the silent majority who don’t comment for whatever reason.
      Thank you very much for the nomination. I’ve never been nominated for the Liebster Award before and am pleased and flattered. I’m a bit rubbish about dealing with blogging awards, but I will try to get my act together about it soon. 🙂

      • November 27, 2012 8:40 pm

        I know – it’s been a bit frustrating at times not having an OpenID and therefore not being able to officially follow or comment. It’s quite common – you’re far from being alone.

        But I’ve always been here in the background, reading weekly, watching wistfully as you go to Skye ( my favourite place in the world), lusting after your glorious, stately trees and castle.

        🙂

  2. November 27, 2012 8:58 pm

    The trees do like they are chatting. What stories they must have to tell.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 28, 2012 12:44 pm

      Mustn’t they indeed – such a different world from ours, though sharing the same space.

  3. November 28, 2012 2:28 am

    You make Tuesdays special. Thank you for sharing the dancing beech beasties!

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 28, 2012 12:44 pm

      Ah, you are lovely! It’s my pleasure.

  4. November 28, 2012 11:30 am

    Just four lines, DB, but they conjure up such images in my mind. Your third sentence transported me straight to the forests of Middle-Earth. 🙂

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 28, 2012 1:12 pm

      Thank you. Funnily enough, the obvious Tolkien allusion didn’t occur to me until I re-read what I’d written. I think that Tolkien’s world-view – ecology, ents and elves, transient beauty, melancholic yearning and the awareness of St. Augustine’s ‘restless heart’ – has so saturated my own that it’s become part of my thought.

  5. November 28, 2012 1:54 pm

    Such a beautiful post… Really lovely, all the way ’round. I always imagine these wonderful creatures talking amid my hikes — some of the oldest I call “the gentlemen” — and why wouldn’t they? 🙂

  6. November 29, 2012 1:55 pm

    I really wonder that you can get anything at all done in your life, DB, with all the fabulous trees on your property and surround. I’d be lost in a daydream near each and every one of them… my life would just pass me by!

Trackbacks

  1. Winter woods, or a corner of heaven « Dancing Beastie

Leave a Reply

