Skip to content

Two ways to win the Kiltie Dash

August 30, 2012

In our local Highland Games, one of the regular races is the Kiltie Dash. The 129th Games took place at the weekend and, unlike last year, there were separate races this year for children and adults. In fact, there were meant to be separate races for girls and boys: since only two girls and one boy entered, however, their races were run together.

The sole boy in the childrens’ race was our wee son. After a slight wobble about entering, he got into the spirit and began to show off so much that he almost missed the starting whistle. It didn’t matter, though, that he was (to his great surprise) beaten by the lassies. He was the only boy, so he was declared the victor of the Boys’ Kiltie Dash. It was a considerably inflated prize to last year’s, too: not one lolly, but two lollies, plus a generous record token. Well worth the effort!

So, being the only competitor in your category has to be the easiest way to victory. The other way is just to be bigger, faster, and frankly plain scarier than the other competitors. Once, when I was a child, I was charged by a herd of cows. The thunder of their hooves and the approaching wall of their immense, implacable bulk haunted my dreams afterwards. For some reason I had flashbacks to that as I tried to take a photo of this race.

I hope you can understand why it’s not in perfect focus.

No lollies for this lot: the victor of the adult event was awarded a bottle of whisky. Looking at his mud-spattered back, I thought that he had earned every drop.

There’s more to be discovered about our Highland Games in the post Wi’ a hundred pipers an a’, an a’…

 

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2012 7:26 pm

    oh dear. I know why you did this with the photos, but this gave me a flashback to the photos a family friend used to take. She always managed to cut off the tops of people’s heads. Inadvertently but with a earnestness that could be a little alarming. At one point, my brother and I assembled a collection of old photos from the cottage and we had no doubt which one’s were taken by Betty!

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      August 30, 2012 10:41 pm

      Eek, sorry to give you flashbacks. The one of my son was (reluctantly, as he did look rather sweet) deliberate; but the one of the men was completely by accident. I was too busy fearing for my life to point the camera properly!

  2. August 30, 2012 7:27 pm

    p.s. I love those kilts a-swinging 🙂
    and well done to the winners.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      August 30, 2012 10:41 pm

      Yeah, ye cannae beat a swinging kilt. 😉

  3. August 31, 2012 12:29 am

    Chuckled over that running of the men…I could feel the threat almost upon you…reminded me of the time I looked up and an entire herd of buffalo were headed right towards me!
    Looks like fun was had by all.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      September 4, 2012 10:54 pm

      Oh boy, buffalo would be seriously scary. You can’t even distract them with a bottle of whisky!

  4. September 1, 2012 10:45 am

    Well done to your wee son, DB. He looks so pleased and proud and I’m glad to see shirts come untucked from kilts as well as trousers. 🙂

    Don’t talk to me about being charged by a herd of cows. It happened to my sisters and me when we were small and I’m still wary in a field with cows to this day.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      September 4, 2012 10:57 pm

      I think small boys’ shirts come untucked from *anything*!
      Funnily enough, my own being-charged experience didn’t put me off walking through fields of cows: I just became a lot more careful about keeping well away from cows with calves, and making very sure that I never got between them. But I can still remember the paralysing terror of that time, and my poor mother dragging me bodily over a wall as my legs turned to jelly. Phew.

  5. hmunro permalink
    September 1, 2012 2:17 pm

    Fair play to your wee son! His slightly bashful smile and post-race dishevelment are priceless. And no need to apologize for the slightly-out-of-focus shot. I’m secretly relieved: it’s best not to see those swinging kilts *too* clearly. 🙂 But what’s this about having been charged by a herd of cows? Please tell us the story, DB. Please?

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      September 4, 2012 11:03 pm

      I’m with you on the kilts: best to leave some things to the imagination! As for the cows, see my reply to Perpetua above. I must have been only five or six. We were on a family walk and foolishly got between the cows and a calf or two, so you can’t blame the cows. My brother legged it, flinging himself over a stone wall to safety with a yell of terror. I was rooted to the spot and would have been flattened if it hadn’t been for Mum’s heroics. An early example of my sprinting prowess! (That’s why I will *never* enter the Kiltie Dash.)

  6. September 1, 2012 7:59 pm

    Well done, young Master DB. I think I’d rather be charged by a load of dashing kilties than cows 😉

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      September 4, 2012 11:05 pm

      Any time! 🙂

  7. Erika W. permalink
    September 3, 2012 2:13 pm

    I am so pleased to find you up and blogging once more.

    I was once chased by two big and friendly calves. I was silly enough to rattle a bucket of calf nuts at them to move them out of our neighbors’ sweet corn patch (A gate had been left open) They came at the gallop and I just missed being trampled which would not have been at all good. I side stepped in true matador fashion and threw the nuts after them.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      September 4, 2012 11:07 pm

      Thanks, Erika. I like your story of the calves! They are so often friendly, and very inquisitive – just so big and clumsy. On the whole I like them best on the other side a good solid farm gate.

Leave a Reply

