Skip to content

Summer thunderstorm

August 22, 2012

One thing we do not lack in this part of the world is water. Sometimes, we really receive more than our fair share. A torrential thunderstorm (another one) yesterday gave us a new stream winding across the fields. This morning it is gone: a large puddle by the trees and some rather damp cows are all that remains.

Compare this with After a storm…

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Toffeeapple permalink
    August 22, 2012 4:21 pm

    I spent some time in Argyll in April and could see evidence of all the rain that had been falling. Beautiful country!

    • August 22, 2012 11:50 pm

      We were in Argyll a couple of weeks ago – it’s probably my favourite part of Scotland, green and full of history and faerie. It was quite dry there this summer in fact and there were no midges for once, so we were doubly blessed!

  2. August 22, 2012 9:28 pm

    Glad you are back Dancing Beastie, I have missed your gently reflective posts. Hope you are not being Too Brave and “all that”, whilst walking the Westie, whilst watching from the corner of your eye for those who walk, not beside us, but just beyond the edge of vision.

    • August 22, 2012 11:55 pm

      Oh, Alison, your kind and intuitive words have brought tears to my eyes. Yes, I feel her with me every day. I find myself listening for her and seeing a blur of black fur from the corner of my eye. I miss her…oh…like a hole in my heart. You have to try to hold it together for normal life – so draining, holding it all in – but I am no good at all at being Too Brave in the privacy of home. I need some return to normality, though, and coming back to writing is a part of that. Thank you.

  3. August 24, 2012 2:42 pm

    Such an atmospheric photo, DB. We keep being forecast thunderstorms, but so far they’ve passed us by…

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      August 30, 2012 11:13 pm

      I wonder if you’ve had any yet. We’ve had thunder almost every day for a week! Quite fun listening to Beethoven’s Pastoral ‘thunderstorm’ on the radio while there was a real one crashing overhead. 🙂

  4. August 28, 2012 3:53 am

    Just lovely. Always something going on in nature to keep us guessing. It is healing somehow.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      August 30, 2012 11:15 pm

      Yes, it is healing, that’s a good observation. I see this view every day in a thousand different lights. I never tire of its beauty.

  5. August 28, 2012 9:52 am

    Hello again Dancing Beastie. I thought of this post last night. The recent “monsoon” made our roof leak, so I scuttled round the place with cloths and buckets, scowling mightily. Small so scuttled also – packing for his school trip. Chaos also rained. This morning, all is sunny, brave Knights of the Roof have been, mended the roof and found a wasp nest. Mighty Viking of the Pest controllers attends on Friday. Have a good weekend….

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      August 30, 2012 11:18 pm

      Oh Lord, poor you, it does sound chaotic! But I just love your ‘Knights of the Roof’ and Mighty Viking pest controllers. My own wee son would be very impressed.

      We have found a wasp nest too. Eech. I know we should try to see the beauty in all creation, but I do struggle with wasps.

      I hope that your various warriors have managed to restore calm to your family life by now!

Leave a Reply

