Skip to content

The Tuesday tree: cherry blossom time already

March 27, 2012

Despite my blogging rules being self-imposed, I always feel a bit guilty if I get to Tuesday and realise I haven’t written anything since the previous Tuesday. Lovely as trees are, it’s more interesting to intersperse them with other topics, I think.

So what I have been doing since last Tuesday? Well, thinking and reading a good deal about all sorts of things, but not managing to write them down. Also having a stinking cold and feeling a bit sorry for myself (boo). And planning for our upcoming holiday (hurray!). And above all, enjoying the weirdly, wonderfully, warm weather. In the past few days, in fact, it’s gone from being unseasonably warm to positively hot by Scottish standards.

On Sunday we had lunch in the garden and spent the whole afternoon enjoying the sunshine, as the thermometer hit 20 degrees C (68 F). Yesterday it reached 22 (71) in the afternoon. That’s warmer than some whole summers here! And it’s a record-breaker for March, when snow showers are more usual. Although, as friends on Facebook reminded me, heat and cold are relative: when I was crowing about our fabulous weather, a friend in Newfoundland told me gloomily that it was minus seven degrees C where he was, with more snow and ice forecast; whereas a cousin in Australia told me that he started feeling cold when the temperature dropped to twenty in the evening. I’m happy to be somewhere in the middle.

With this unaccustomed warmth, the spring flowers and leaves are busting out all over. March is more green than I can ever remember, with larch, limes, sycamore and notafagi beginning to leaf a month earlier than usual. And best of all, the cherry trees are in bloom. That little one that began flowering at New Year is still managing to push out a few flowers amongst its new leaves. This week, the others have caught up and are looking delicious in their full flush of beauty. Enjoy.

Last year the cherry blossom came in April, coinciding with other reflections: see Cherry blossom;

and also with a visit to the city of York: see Oh to be in England, now that April’s there.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2012 2:55 pm

    Seems like everyone has cherry blossoms. Quite amazing to see all that pink in trees! Glad the weather is trying to cheer you up also with an early spring. We don’t have the Cherries, but the pear trees are a cloud of white – and the wildfires along with the wet winter has produced a crowd of wildflowers: bluebonnets, Indian Paintbrush, crimson clover – and all the rest – should peak shortly. Guess it’s spring…wish the mild weather would last!

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      March 28, 2012 5:55 pm

      Interesting that the warm weather is on both sides of the Atlantic. Our pear blossom doesn’t normally appear until late April, but the pink cherry trees look wonderful. Your wildflowers sound beautiful: I guess that they have had the perfect germinating/ growing conditions, which is at least some consolation for the wildfires!

  2. hmunro permalink
    March 27, 2012 3:03 pm

    We’re sharing your wonderfully weird, warm weather here in Minnesota, and everything seems about a month ahead of schedule here too. It won’t be long before I’m posting some peony photos for you, I think! And what’s this about a holiday? 🙂

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      March 28, 2012 5:59 pm

      Isn’t it strange? I look forward to the peonies! As for the holiday – I’ll keep you posted, though it’s not what you might think…

  3. Erika W. permalink
    March 27, 2012 3:39 pm

    The Washington, DC, cherry trees are in full bloom also–earlier that usual. Our own immense , ring-barked, Korean cherry tree is beginning to leaf out, much too early, and even our Chaste tree is hinting at green. (The year after we planted it we almost dug it up as dead because the sap rises so late–beginning of May normally) Now, last night it dropped to 28 F and will do the same tonight–pray for the State’s fruit trees (Delaware)

    Meanwhile we have purchased a big wooden garden shed to be built next week and to make the garage livable in so that my husband won’t’ have to sidle up to his work benches and keep his elbows tucked well in!

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      March 28, 2012 6:06 pm

      I was reading about the Washington cherry trees only the other day, learning that they were a gift from Japan. What a wonderful gift! And I had to look up Chaste trees (I love the name) as they do not grow in Scotland. They look awfully pretty. But your weather sounds all over the place too: is this really the beginning of climate change, or only natural anomalies? I guess only hindsight will tell.

      Your husband must be excited about his shed. Every husband needs a shed! 😉

  4. March 27, 2012 6:22 pm

    I know what you mean about those self imposed blogging rules and guilty feelings of not posting more often. I feel a tiny bit of despair when I look at my month and see I only posted for the now three memes I joined. Then again, without them, I wonder what I would have to say at all.

    Our weather has dropped from a high of 29C (!!!!!) to a high of -3C (in one day) going from seriously above normal temps to slightly below normal temps.

    So maybe it is good that our cherry blossoms have not quite blossomed yet.
    I shall look at yours and dream….

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      March 28, 2012 6:12 pm

      As I commented to Erika (above), all these weather goings-on do make you wonder. Maybe your cherry blossom is sensible to hold off a while longer!

  5. March 28, 2012 8:33 am

    Many thanks for this, DB. I love cherry blossom and have only seen our French trees in bloom once. Sorry to hear about the cold and hope you’re better now. How does it feel to be breaking weather records for Scotland? 🙂

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      March 28, 2012 6:14 pm

      Oh, we have been loving it – in our own dour way! 😉 (See my new post on the subject.)

      Maybe you could swap your wanderings around one year and go to Normandy in apple blossom time. It must look a picture.

Trackbacks

  1. Curiouser and curiouser | Dancing Beastie
  2. Spring song | Dancing Beastie

Leave a Reply

