Skip to content

Just walking the dog

March 18, 2012

Did someone mention the ‘w’ word?

Come on, Mum, how long does it take to get your coat and boots on!

Let’s go down the steps.

(Mum stops to admire the rhododendrons: I can’t believe they are flowering in mid-March.)

(And the Rh. barbatum, which this time last year was looking spectacular blooming in the snow, has almost finished flowering already.)

Lots of lovely smells to explore on the path beside the burn.

In fact, while Mum’s stopped to listen to the bubbling cries of the curlews, which we have just started hearing again in the field beside the river, I think I might go into the burn to investigate.

Where next?

Up this mossy bank: there are lots of rabbit holes to explore, and usually some pheasants to flush, and maybe a roe deer or two if I’m lucky!

(Meanwhile, Mum is enjoying the daffodils under the trees, and the green spring grass, and the wild mallard on the lochan, and the birdsong filling the woods.)

Nearly home, Mum!

OK, that’s enough photographs of me please. You know it makes me self-conscious.

No, really, enough now.

Home again…

…and time for a well-earned snooze.

Of course, some people think it’s always time for a snooze..!

(Dedicated to my best-beloved spaniel, who has been sitting on my lap supervising the ghost-writing of this post.)

Last year I wrote about today, Laetare Sunday and Mothering Sunday, in A rose-tinted Sunday.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2012 5:27 pm

    I love the way dogs run ahead and then come back to tell you what they have seen! Thank you for letting me come on your walk. I like the frequent stops to admire all that is coming to life again. And I have to say I’ve lost my heart to your little Westie (but don’t tell The Spaniel or there will be major sulks!).

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      March 18, 2012 7:32 pm

      That’s just what dogs do, you are quite right! I can imagine that you would get on rather well with our Westie. He has just had his spring bath and haircut, so is looking particularly appealing at the moment. (He was looking more like an old sheepskin rug a week ago!)

  2. March 18, 2012 6:33 pm

    I managed to drag DH out for a short walk this afternoon, DB, but with nowhere near as much to see as you had, DB. Rhododendrons in March? Gosh, your spring really is so early. A lovely post, as were the two you linked to and which I also savoured. I do enjoy following up your links to earlier posts. 🙂

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      March 18, 2012 7:35 pm

      It is very peculiar. Those pink rhodies are usually late April blooms, and the rest follow in May and June. Lovely though it is to have an early spring, it’s all rather discombobulating!
      Thanks for letting me know that you enjoy the links; it’s good to have some direction from readers.

  3. March 18, 2012 6:39 pm

    I have just come back from hanging out int he park watching the dogs run around….
    it must be lovely for yours to be able to do that without being leashed

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      March 18, 2012 7:36 pm

      I often think that one of the greatest blessings of living where we do is the free-range life it affords us, dogs, children and adults alike. Our dogs can barely remember how to behave on a leash: they really only wear one to visit the vet. I couldn’t comment on the kids! 😉

  4. March 18, 2012 8:36 pm

    Oh I had a lovely time taking a ‘stroll’ along the both of you! perfect for Mothering Day too (I am blessed as I celebrate twice – today and the second Sunday of May as we live now in the States)
    Your best friend has beautiful soulful eyes and the Westie looks like a darling too!
    Thank you for sharing, Happy Mothering Day and God bless,

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      March 18, 2012 9:02 pm

      My pleasure, Noelle, and I’m glad you enjoyed it too. Happy first Mother’s Day of the year!

  5. March 18, 2012 9:06 pm

    What a priceless look of pure puzzlement in the shot on the steps. You can just see the question mark over your poor dog’s head!
    I got a bit nervous at the going headfirst into the burn shot. Our springer spaniel, when out with the gun, had an endearing habit of finding the smelliest drainage or slurry ditch and revelling in it. Glad to see yours looked almost as glossy at the end of the walk as at the start.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      March 18, 2012 9:15 pm

      Yes, she is looking rather furrowed of brow in that picture! Funny, because she has no problem dashing up and down steps. Perhaps she was just puzzled about why I kept stopping to take photos.
      She came home glossy as ever but gloriously (in her opinion) smelly! A bit of a scrub may be in the offing if it hasn’t worn off by tomorrow. You’ve got to love a working spaniel, though. Indefatigable and full of love.

  6. Julia Miller permalink
    March 19, 2012 2:01 am

    I’m showing my American influence – I read “burn” as barn. I kept looking for a big red barn! We also have had beautiful weather mixed with Thunderstorms. It was 85 F/ 29.4 C in Georgia today. I love your blog, pictures and insight.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      March 19, 2012 1:12 pm

      Sorry, I did wonder if I should put in a translation on that Scots word! No beautiful American style barns over here, sadly.
      I can’t believe it’s 85F in Georgia – no wonder you’ve had thunderstorms! Hope it doesn’t stay too hot for you. We have temperatures like that maybe once a decade if we’re lucky. 🙂

  7. March 19, 2012 9:17 am

    The dog and nature pictures were quite lovely, but what really got me were those absolutely gorgeous old stone stairs! I could sit there with a cup of tea staring at that beautiful balustrade all day!

    Hope you are well Beastie; btw did you hear Heather’s coming back to Paris? We’re going to have a lot of fun exploring the city. Come over and join us, won’t you? 🙂

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      March 19, 2012 1:15 pm

      Aha, I wondered if anyone would comment on the stairs. Clearly you are an old romantic at heart. I l love them too.

      Oh my goodness, don’t tempt me to come and join you and H in Paris. I’d come in a heartbeat if it weren’t for domestic obligations. Talking of steps, Heather told me you showed her the steps that feature in ‘Midnight in Paris’, which I’ve only just seen. I think I’d love one of your guided tours! 🙂

      • March 20, 2012 6:52 pm

        I have loads of random historical Paris knowledge just waiting to be unleashed upon anyone who agrees meet me, so I’ll take you up on that next time you’re in town!

  8. Menatra permalink
    March 19, 2012 9:22 pm

    Once again you have done a great job capturing the beauty of nature around you. The greens just seem so vivid over there. Your Spaniel is also beautiful, we had a brown and white one when I was growing up and have loved them ever since.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      March 20, 2012 1:08 pm

      Thank you, Menatra. We are at that odd stage of the year when most of the trees and bushes are still brown and lifeless looking, but the grass beneath them is the most vivid, saturated green. It’s only when the trees catch up that everything starts looking harmonious again!
      This is my first spaniel, but I can’t imagine having anything else now. She’s a darling.

  9. Erika W. permalink
    March 20, 2012 1:56 pm

    Beautiful Spring walk–thank you so much for sharing it. I was hiding indoors away from the noise of chain saws taking down two old trees in our back, not only the one we had expected, the giant spruce, but also a Norwegian maple which proved to be rotting. The wood peckers are going to be annoyed; they had nearly turned the top into a vegetable drainer!
    You have reminded me to start looking in the markets for a bunch of pussy willow. One year we had a little branch that rooted. We put it in a big pot and after 3 years it produced pussies and catkins and we put it into the ground. Now we no longer live there. I hope it survived.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      March 20, 2012 6:17 pm

      What a lovely story about a branch of willow taking root. I do hope it is still growing into a willow tree. It’s tough leaving behind plants that you have nurtured and watched and loved, isn’t it? We are lucky now that we are settled in one place for the foreseeable future, and can enjoy watching the annual changes and growth of trees that we have planted and, indeed, that my father-in-law planted in his day.

      I hope your woodpeckers find something else to feed on: they love rotting wood!

  10. March 20, 2012 6:46 pm

    What a beautiful, expressive face! Of course the ending photograph with the other dog made me laugh outright. Thanks for the smile on a dreary, rainy day.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      March 20, 2012 10:38 pm

      Happy to cheer you up, Lisa! 🙂

  11. June 15, 2012 3:21 pm

    Hello!

    My name is Hannah and I’m contacting you from Pedigree about your gorgeous pooches! We noticed you have an older dog so I thought I’d get in touch and see if you would be interested. It’s completely free and there’s no hidden catches, we’d simply love for you to share your experience with your community as we’re keen to see what dog owners such as yourself think of the product.

    Pedigree Joint Care+ helps to ease joint stiffness, which becomes more common as dogs get older. We’d like to send you 6 weeks’ worth of tasty Joint Care+ treats as well as a fantastic goodie bag, packed full of fun things to help keep your dogs entertained.

    What’s more, those undertaking the Joint Care+ trial have the opportunity to attend some very special Pedigree Play Again events happening around the country in August. Take a look at the Pedigree Joint Care+ Play Again video to see what you can enjoy at the events and visit the Facebook page for photos of what went on at the first set of #playagain events in May. Search for the #playagain hash tag on twitter and you can also see all the fun other triallists are having!

    If you are interested in taking part in this trial then get in touch and I’ll send you more information shortly. If you have any questions – or you just want to chat about anything dog related– then I will be happy to help. Just bark them my way!

    Looking forward to hearing from you,

    Hannah

Trackbacks

  1. to have loved and lost « Dancing Beastie
  2. Where to begin? Oh, I know… « Dancing Beastie
  3. August Break | Dancing Beastie

Leave a Reply

