Skip to content

Friday flowers

February 10, 2012

Just because….we all need flowers to brighten our lives sometimes, and these joyous, gaudy anemones have been doing the job for me this week. Hope you like anemones too.

 

 

 

 

 

You might also need an antidote to grey.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2012 7:21 pm

    Gorgeous, DB! Just what I needed after coming home through snow on this cold evening. Anemones and freesias are some of my favourite spirit-lifters. 🙂

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      February 10, 2012 7:59 pm

      Good, I’m so glad! Thanks for letting me know.

  2. hmunro permalink
    February 10, 2012 8:40 pm

    This post brought out the bee in me! Thanks for a lovely reminder that it won’t always be -18 Celsius. 🙂

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      February 10, 2012 11:33 pm

      Eech, -18 is not funny! Spring is coming, I promise…

  3. February 11, 2012 1:26 am

    Just a gorgeous preview of spring.

  4. February 11, 2012 5:45 am

    Very pretty – thanks for sharing your anemones 🙂

  5. February 11, 2012 10:05 am

    These are lovely (I especially like the overexposed shots)
    Today (overnight) we are having more snow than we have had all winter, so your flowers are especially welcome!

  6. Toffeeapple permalink
    February 11, 2012 10:41 am

    Goodness, what a relief to see such colourful flowers, thank you.

  7. February 11, 2012 11:07 am

    Oh, these are so nice! The window ledge over here is a riot of grape hyacinths and tulips at the moment…. I know just what you mean about needing flowers to pick you up at this time of year!

  8. dancingbeastie permalink*
    February 11, 2012 8:00 pm

    Thank you for all your comments. I’m really glad that you like them too. I think we all need a shock of colour at this ‘driech end’ of the year.

    Violet Sky, I was tempted to overexpose them even more, as the contrast between the white background and the flowers was very pleasing. As a rule, though, I don’t like to muck about with my shots too much. What you see is what it is. 🙂

  9. Erika W. permalink
    February 14, 2012 6:57 pm

    I have never really cared for anemones but my goodness, have you changed my mind for me–what a wonderful lift to the spirits.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      February 14, 2012 11:56 pm

      I’m glad I’ve changed your mind! They really are like colour therapy, especially at this colourless time of year.

  10. February 14, 2012 10:59 pm

    Just stopped in to say Happy Bloggentines Day! Hope the weather and everything else is going well

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      February 14, 2012 11:57 pm

      Well, thank you, Philosopher Mouse, and a happy Bloggentines Day to you too! 🙂

  11. Margaret Lambert permalink
    February 15, 2012 3:43 am

    The still life in a window is a delight. Winter sunlight may be weak, but what a pleasure to see it making the petals glow.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      February 15, 2012 12:24 pm

      Hello, Margaret. Yes, I really love the low winter light, and the way it spotlights unexpected details as it moves around the room. It’s much more interesting than summer sunshine, even if there isn’t as much of it!

  12. February 26, 2012 10:59 pm

    I do like – love – anemones, especially these colours. Thank you for posting these photos. 🙂

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      February 27, 2012 7:37 pm

      My pleasure! I’m glad you enjoyed them too.

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Monday | Dancing Beastie

Leave a Reply

