Skip to content

two kinds of cold and a bowl of soup

February 6, 2012

Dancing Beastie has been a little erratic recently, for which I apologise. The truth is that my thoughts have been on other things. In fact, I would go so far as to say that my head is full. (You must appreciate that, since my brain injury, it doesn’t take half as much thought and information as it used to to fill my head.) I have been pondering new beginnings: expanding my writing and photography into more areas, perhaps; a new approach to food and diet, and a possible new source of (voluntary) employment. All those ideas, in other words, that you have around New Year and usually (in my case at least) have allowed to evaporate by the time February comes in.

A powerful post by my blog friend Heather helped to galvanise my resolve.  (Thank you, Heather!) This year, I am going to try to hold onto the idealism of January and actually try to realise some of these plans. The only way to do it is to shut your eyes and jump in. Rather than blogging, then – or I should say as well as blogging, as words and images for Dancing Beastie are always in the back of my mind – I have been busy this week signing up for things before I could talk myself out of them. Thus I found myself in the middle of a rather delicious detox diet (but with a fearsome caffeine-withdrawal headache) at the same time as trying to write a ‘why do you think you are suitable for this job’ piece for an application form, with a deadline of the end of this week. The last time I had a job interview was, umm…just over eleven years ago. So you might understand why it’s taking up a lot of head space.

Meanwhile, in the world out there beyond my laptop, it has turned properly cold and frosty for the first time this winter. We were staying with friends last weekend up in the hills, where there was already a bit of snow.

Britain has just caught the edge of the massive area of intense cold hanging across Europe, which means that we have been getting pleasantly bracing temperatures of minus five or six Celsius (around 22 F) first thing in the morning. The lochans have frozen over almost completely in the last few days,

so small boys can have a lovely time smashing the margins of the ice with sticks.

Just as the lovely tingly cold weather hit, however, I managed to catch another cold from my darling son. When you’re fizzing with germs and not feeling very hungry, the best comfort food has to be soup, don’t you think? So I made a big pot of vegetable soup with what I could find in the larder. Into the pot alongside the predictable carrots, parsnips, cabbage and so forth went a generous amount of chopped fresh root ginger. This was an experiment, but I think it was a very successful one. I’d recommend it for when you’re in need of a bit of a boost: you can almost feel the antioxidants setting to work!

Unfortunately, my son (who will not eat soup of any description) has since developed his own particularly nasty form of the bug we all have. A frighteningly high fever and sore throat have made him really very poorly over the weekend, poor lamb, to the extent that we spent this morning (Sunday) at the nearest cottage hospital rather than at home in bed where he should have been (but that’s a rant I’ll save for another day). Thank heavens, the fever has broken today and I think he is on the mend, though a duvet day is in the offing for Monday. It seems very bad luck for him that this illness hit on our first weekend of decent snow cover. The boys had been planning all sorts of sledging exploits and so on but, in the event, the younger one managed only about twenty minutes in the snow before exhaustion and soaring fever returned. Still, at least that was just enough time to chuck a snowball or two at his loving mum. That’s what winter should be all about, after all.

What with a head full of job applications, plus broken nights, a sick child and the rest, I’m not feeling very coherent or creative at the moment. Please bear with me! And I hope that you have had a lovely weekend, snowy or not.

You might enjoy: Obviously, I’d never do this.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2012 1:16 am

    Hang in there, D.B., your head will get better. Bit by bit, little by little. It just takes soooo long. But it does happen. Been there. I hope everyone recovers quickly.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      February 6, 2012 7:15 pm

      Thank you for your encouraging words, Gerri. I remember that you too suffered a head injury, you poor thing, and it is so good to hear that you feel you have recovered. I’m definitely making progress.

  2. Toffeeapple permalink
    February 6, 2012 9:56 am

    Wishing you well soon and good luck with the interview.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      February 6, 2012 7:15 pm

      Thank you, I’ll need it!

  3. February 6, 2012 11:53 am

    So sorry about your cold and your son’s nasty bug, DB. I do hope you are both soon on the mend. Having read Heather’s post, I can quite see why you were galvanised to do as well as to dream this year. All good wishes for the doing and the dreaming and I await developments with keen anticipation.

    PS Soup is my medicine for everything that ails me. 🙂

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      February 6, 2012 7:17 pm

      Thank you for your good wishes. I’ll keep you posted! I remember that you are a soup-maker too. So satisfying, both the making and the eating. I’ve been having a lot of it this week!

  4. hmunro permalink
    February 6, 2012 4:34 pm

    Never mind the bit about your “erratic” posting: Every one of your posts is a treasure, regardless of when it arrives.

    I’m hoping that you and your wee ones are on the mend by now, and I’ll be thinking of you as you embark on your first job interview(s) in 11 years. I can tell you without a shred of doubt that your prospective employer(s) will be charmed by your poise, wit and intelligence.

    As we say here in the ‘States: Go get ’em, tiger! 🙂

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      February 6, 2012 7:19 pm

      Bless you, Heather. We’re a bit better today, though I think it’s looking like Tuesday may be another home day for my little one. Most unlike him.

      ‘Poise, wit and intelligence’ – goodness, you know me so well! 😉 I’ll try to live up to your kind words.

  5. Erika W. permalink
    February 7, 2012 2:36 pm

    Definitely soup.Home made chicken is of course the best but every other kind is comforting.
    my own magic remedy is a hot drink made from 1 part home made elderberry syrup to 3-4 parts hot water. I have to bat my husband away from the syrup as the waiting jars are meant for this purpose only!

    I do hope that you are all the mend by now and I would add my encouragements to Gerri’s for your own long, slow recovery.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      February 7, 2012 7:27 pm

      Thank you for your encouragement, Erika, not just today but over the past many months. It really does make a difference.

      Do you know, I have been meaning to make elderberry syrup for so many years…and somehow have never got round to it. I tend to just put the elderberries in my cooking in the autumn. I really must try – I know it’s meant to be wonderful for combating colds and flu.

  6. February 7, 2012 3:38 pm

    Hope there’s enough sun to warm you guys (but enough snow to entertain the one not sick!)
    You’d be a real addition to any company – such insight, perseverance, attention to detail, writing skills – not to mention management skills. Go in there with your head high, your gracious style and wow them (No doubt they will be impressed.)
    Coffee isn’t all bad(consider just a little?) But dehydration is: lots of water – sick or well! The system can just take so many shocks at once. Lots of luck!

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      February 7, 2012 7:32 pm

      Such wonderful compliments will swell my head if I’m not careful – I’m tempted to quote you at interview! Thank you very much.

      The headache is passed now, thank heavens, and I am drinking lots of water and herbal tea. I’ve also had my first cup of ‘normal’ black tea in a week today – can’t tell you how good it tasted! 🙂 And yes, the sun is shining on the frost and snow, and the patients are slowly recovering, so all is good – as, I hope, with you.

  7. February 8, 2012 8:02 am

    That’Is quite a catalogue of things to be busy with. Child in hospital with fever is enough to drive everything else out of one’s mind. Glad to hear your son is on the mend. In our case – suspected meningitis which turned out to be very bad measles, despite both children having had the full MMR. The ambulance transfer from Speyside to the isolation unit at AberdeenRoyal Infirmary is not a journey I would do again.
    Very best wishes with the job application. And with the healthy new you.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      February 9, 2012 3:59 pm

      Thanks for the positive vibes, Linda! Your sick child experience sounds horrendous. I’m glad you all got through it OK.

      I am full-time nursemaid this week as son is still off school looking wabbit and my husband has come down with this flu-like bug too. Just as well this healthy diet seems to be keeping one of us on our feet! 😉

Leave a Reply

