Skip to content

The Tuesday tree: winter silhouettes – lime trees, passing shower

January 17, 2012

Just a brief Tuesday tree post today (maternal duties call). From the garden, we can see one of the avenues of ancient lime trees beyond the walls. Lime or linden trees (Tilia) in cities are the annoying ones that drop sticky stuff onto your windscreen if you park under them in the summer (although actually it is aphids, not the trees themselves, that produce the goo). It is only since these trees became my neighbours in the countryside that I have grown to appreciate them. Whiskery, warty and virtually immortal thank to their ability to re-grow from stray shoots, these untidy trees have tremendous character. Against a winter sky of low light and scudding rainclouds, their black branches remind me of that childhood game of dropping a blob of ink onto a piece of paper and blowing it with a drinking straw, to form erratic branch-like lines. Does anyone else remember doing that, I wonder? I should add it to my list of maternal duties…

 

 

 

 

For more silhouettes and a little on the history of these trees, see Lime blue.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2012 9:46 pm

    Wonderful shapes, DB, one of the many reasons DH and I are so fond of winter.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      January 17, 2012 10:50 pm

      Yes, deciduous trees in winter are so beautiful, and I am getting better at recognising the different kinds without their leaves as a clue!

  2. January 19, 2012 4:47 pm

    Yes! How funny, they are just like those drawings. I love these trees, particularly when they have been pollarded (if that’s the correct term), as it reminds me of holidays in France.
    K x

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      January 20, 2012 5:03 pm

      Oh good, glad it’s not just me then! But I always feel sorry for pollarded trees. As you say, very French – a bit too tidy for my liking! 🙂

Leave a Reply

