Skip to content

And another thing: snowdrops

January 6, 2012

One of my more minor resolutions for the new year is to make sure I write about more than ‘hello trees, hello sky’ here.* I will try, I promise, not to allow this to become nothing more than half-baked musings on dog walks. Meanwhile, however, I will continue with the Tuesday trees (at least until you tell me enough already) and I just have to add a brief postscript to my previous post on cherry blossom. Today I noticed a snowdrop about to open. Snowdrops flowering in January would be normal for much of England, I think, but it is amazing to me here. The first time I was able to show any photographs of snowdrops last year was on the 24th of February. If there have ever been snowdrops flowering at New Year here in past years, I don’t remember them: so here is my single New Year snowdrop, for your pleasure and mine. (I apologise for the lack of sharpness: we still have strong winds and both photographer and subject were finding it hard to keep still.)

 

* It was the school drip, Fotherington-Tomas, who first skipped about saying something to this effect in ‘The Compleet Molesworth’, a gem of  mid-20th Century humour written by Geoffrey Willans and illustrated deliciously by Ronald Searle, whose death was announced this week (chiz chiz). To quote the passage I had in mind, ‘It is only fotherington-tomas you kno he sa Hullo clouds hullo sky he is a girlie and love the scents and sounds of nature tho the less i smell and hear them the better.’

 

Last year’s February snowdrops featured in Signs of Spring.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Val permalink
    January 6, 2012 12:34 am

    I love snowdrops. Our daffodils are out now, and that’s very strange for January. On the other hand, so are the terrible winds we’ve been having… at least, the amount and how much and for how long. Where we live, there is a forest nearby and it ‘sang’ (out of tune, I might add) all day and night for nearly 24 hours. Do you have singing forests where you are? In London, we didn’t have this audio problem…

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      January 7, 2012 11:17 pm

      Daffodils?! Oh my goodness! Honestly, I’d rather have snow than this strange Spring-equinox style winter, with its flowers and gales. I like your description of singing forests. Ours don’t sing, exactly (unless I am too out of tune to hear them) but they do make a lot of noise in the wind, like a stormy sea. I miss their voices when I am away from here.

  2. hmunro permalink
    January 6, 2012 1:08 am

    Boiling your blog down to ‘hello trees, hello sky’ is akin to boiling Dickens down to ‘hello urchins, hello miser,’ or Melville to “hello whale.” And your writing is, in fact, the diametrical opposite of “half-baked musings.”

    So please keep tapping away unselfconsciously about the world around you. I, for one, enjoy accompanying you on your dog walks. And I suspect you’ll look back on these posts in a few years and find them rich with personal recollections.

    Lovely photo too, by the way. 🙂

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      January 7, 2012 11:32 pm

      Thank you for your lovely words of encouragement, Heather. They do help, as always. And thank you for making me laugh at your delicious literary suggestions! I think there is an after-dinner game in the making here! (Jack Kerouac: ‘hello, asphalt’? And my husband suggests, for Pinter: ‘……………………………..”hello……”………..’)
      🙂

  3. January 6, 2012 11:34 am

    I like hello sky hello trees 🙂 but then I have no problem with being a girlie 🙂

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      January 7, 2012 11:33 pm

      Nor me. As the only woman in the family, I get to be girlie enough for everybody!

  4. January 6, 2012 1:01 pm

    First a resounding ‘hear hear’ to the earlier comments. Your posts are anything but half-baked, DB, and have often led me to ponder rather deeply. You’re certainly right about the horticultural oddness at the moment. Over Christmas in North Yorkshire, our daughter still had roses out and unwithered in her front garden and now you have snowdrops at New Year. Curiouser and curiouser….

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      January 7, 2012 11:38 pm

      Isn’t it odd. We still have a rose or two blooming on a sheltered wall.
      Thank you for your encouragement. I return the compliment, as your posts often cause me to ponder on the important things in life.

  5. January 6, 2012 9:42 pm

    Cute little flowers. Nice quote…and we like the dog walk musings.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      January 7, 2012 11:42 pm

      Thank you! Snowdrops are darling little flowers. I just didn’t expect to see them so soon! it’s a bit like a guest arriving early: you’ve been looking forward to their visit, but you’re a bit flustered because you’re still in your nightclothes…

  6. Erika W. permalink
    January 9, 2012 12:51 pm

    Your thoughts on nature are always thought provoking and this time I have been reminded by you and these responses of my daughter’s remark, when first visiting us here in Delaware from Texas ,”The trees sound so different when the wind blows through the leaves” She is absolutely right and I had never noticed this.

    We taught our children at home for 3 years (PNEU) and part of the curriculum was a weekly nature walk and again you are bringing this back to me–don’t ever stop unless you feel the need to yourself.

Trackbacks

  1. Spring is sprung! « Dancing Beastie

Leave a Reply

