Skip to content

Hibernation

December 28, 2011

The Tuesday tree was absent this week, as some of you might have noticed. Sorry! If the truth be told, the only tree which I have spent much time with over the past few days is this one.

That’s our Christmas tree, of course, with my current favourite ornament: a fragile, magical glass narwhal, complete with glittering glass ‘water’ spouting from its blowhole. The weather is filthy – currently blowing a gale (another one) –  and I have a streaming cold and am curled up in front of the fire with a hot whisky and ginger cordial. The great outdoors is singularly unappealing just now. I hope that you are more successful than I have been in avoiding lurgies, and are enjoying Christmas-tide. (We are only on the fourth day of Christmas, remember!) I’ll be back when Dancing Beastie emerges from hibernation.

Narwhals also feature in this post: Dreaming of a colder country.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. hmunro permalink
    December 28, 2011 9:57 pm

    A hot whisky and ginger cordial sounds like the perfect antidote to the seasonal lurgies, db. So sorry to hear you’re a bit under the weather (pardon the bad pun). But I hope you’ll take some comfort in knowing that you’ve left winter’s darkest days behind, and that you’ll soon be walking among your beloved trees and their mossy roots again. Warm wishes to ye from across the pond …

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      December 28, 2011 11:36 pm

      Thank ye kindly, hmunro! 🙂 The home-made cordial is indeed a most excellent remedy to all seasonal malaise. It’s full of whitecurrants as well as ginger root, so I can claim that it’s good for me too. (Perhaps you’ll get to sample it one day…)

      I must say the days really don’t feel like they are getting longer yet, but I suppose we’ll notice it soon. If there were a bit of snow to play in while we’re all on holiday, I’d be perfectly content, but otherwise all is well really. You have the snow, I imagine, while we have the whisky – something wrong there!

  2. December 29, 2011 12:19 am

    Hope you emerge from your hibernation happy and healthy.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      December 29, 2011 5:02 pm

      Cheers m’dear…

  3. December 29, 2011 12:49 am

    Still sounds ivy and holly festive there. Revel in it! (Life will resume soon enough)

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      December 29, 2011 5:02 pm

      Well, you know, it is. I do love Christmas, even with a cold. Hope you have had a good one too.

  4. December 29, 2011 5:20 am

    Feel better!
    I don’t know how I managed to avoid a cold this year.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      December 29, 2011 5:03 pm

      I think I caught this one from being too smug about avoiding earlier ones…!

  5. December 29, 2011 9:12 am

    So sorry to hear that you’re smorin’ wi the cauld. This warm wind must be blowing in the bugs from somewhere.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      December 29, 2011 5:03 pm

      Yes – where’s the snow and ice when you need it? 🙂

  6. December 29, 2011 5:53 pm

    Get well soon. And – an interesting Christmas decorations!

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      December 30, 2011 4:17 pm

      Thank you. I am intrigued by narwhals. They are not especially Christmassy, but I was lucky enough to find this one in Anthropology in Edinburgh, a shop full of quirky things.

  7. December 29, 2011 10:30 pm

    Was the inspiration to hang the narwhal anything to do with Linda Snell and her walrus?! Hoping you have a speedy recovery,
    Katie x

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      December 30, 2011 4:19 pm

      Oh no, have I become a character in the Archers?! I haven’t listened to it for years, so can confidently claim to be entirely ignorant of Linda Snell’s walrus. (The mind boggles!)

Leave a Reply

