Skip to content

last looks at autumn

November 30, 2011

This morning there was a dusting of snow on our hills, the first that we’ve been able to see from the window. It doesn’t look as if this winter is going to be anything like last year’s adventure, but the beginning of December signals the start of winter nonetheless. So here’s a farewell to Autumn, with some images that have caught my eye in this soggy November.

larches under a rare blue sky

 

red jelly toadstool (or possibly Attack of the Killer Tomatoes)

 

lime bole

 

cobwebs on wet grass, midday

 

details, details

 

season of mists

 

leaf litter in the woods: oak, sweet chestnut

 

ex grege: sycamore

 

lime tree wearing a pom-pom of leaves

 

huge, creepy fungi on the compost heap

 

minute, sunny fungi on the lawn

 

heading home

 

sun setting behind the trees, mid-afternoon

 

You might enjoy: Season of mists.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2011 9:26 pm

    Such wonderful pictures, DB. You have an artist’s eye for detail and composition, as well as a writer’s way with words. Totally entrancing.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 30, 2011 11:25 pm

      What a lovely thing to say. Thank you, and I’m glad you enjoyed them.

  2. November 30, 2011 10:47 pm

    Lime bole? How interesting. Great pictures. The last one looks like waiting for winter

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 30, 2011 11:26 pm

      Yes, I think you’ve pretty much nailed that last one! I’m ready for winter now.

    • December 1, 2011 8:44 am

      Yes, I like the last one too.

  3. December 1, 2011 3:26 am

    I have to say I am always so impressed with your photos. You have a great eye for the light and angles. Oh, and I’ve never seen a mushroom made of sunshine before, never even heard of yellow ones.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      December 1, 2011 12:52 pm

      ‘A mushroom made of sunshine’ 🙂 lovely description! I’ve started to look out for unusual colours in fungi now, as we have so many varieties. The other day I found some almost as tiny as these yellow ones (which are finger-nail size) but bright grass green.

      Thank you for the compliments on the photos. As a total amateur, I cherish such praise. I would love to learn more about photography; it’s just my technophobia that stops me really!

  4. December 3, 2011 9:33 pm

    So how damp did you get, lying on the grass to take some of these shots?

  5. Val permalink
    December 4, 2011 2:23 am

    That tall funghi is partly alarming and partly amusing. I could imagine it getting up and going walkies! And whatever is slime bole?

    Lovely photos. How I do not enjoy winter… I’m hoping we don’t get as much snow as the last couple of years.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      December 5, 2011 10:16 am

      Now that you say that, yes, those inkcaps do look as if they might follow us home. What a creepy thought! Lime – not slime, thankfully – bole just means the main trunk of a lime tree. ‘Bole’ comes to English from an Old Norse word, apparently. Although technically it means a tree trunk from roots to the first branches, I always think it best describes the gnarled, knotty, whiskery bit that you often get near the base of a tree trunk, as in this photo.

      I’m sorry that you don’t enjoy winter. For me, the cold, crisp days are infinitely preferable to damp, dark alternative at this time of year, so I am thrilled that we have snow and freezing blue skies here this week. May the sun shine on you too!

  6. hmunro permalink
    December 4, 2011 3:54 am

    What does it say about my that I snorted when I saw the caption of your first photo? I haven’t been able to take larches seriously since Monty Python introduced me to them (“Tree #1: The Laarch. The Larch.”). Also especially loved the photo of the decoy with the setting sun in the window. You captured a beautiful contemplative moment there, DB. Well done!

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      December 5, 2011 10:17 am

      Hey, everything I know about trees, I learned from Monty Python. 😉

  7. December 4, 2011 11:26 am

    all these different mushrooms sprouting out of the ground fascinate me (though I will never eat one of any kind – blech!)

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      December 5, 2011 10:18 am

      They fascinate me too – can you tell?! Wouldn’t eat any of these though, for sure.

Trackbacks

  1. A twelvemonth of images « Dancing Beastie

Leave a Reply

