Skip to content

The Tuesday tree: low sun, lime avenue

November 29, 2011

It’s hard to believe it but, this time last year, we were properly snowed in. The British weather went a bit haywire at the end of November and we found ourselves in sub-zero temperatures under deep snow. I loved it: apart from anything else, it made everything look incredibly pretty.

This year, however, it seems like we are back to normal. November has been unusually mild, but the grey days and the incessant rain are pretty much par for the course. Today is as dreich as most of the rest of the month has been. When the sun does come out, though, it gleams through the bare branches at the low angle you see only at the dead end of the year, alchemising everyday sights into  beautiful new vistas. A walk up the avenue of limes and yew trees becomes a stop-start journey, punctuated by pauses to marvel at the light.

Here, the lime branches seem to have acted as a prism on the sunshine.

Fallen lime leaves and spots of sunlight splash the drive with gold.

The dark fronds of a spindly yew are lit up with sunbeams.

You might enjoy: November riches: silver and gold.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2011 2:42 pm

    Wonderful photos as ever, DB. I love the way you caught the sun at just the right angle. Thanks too for the links to last year’s amazing snow, which trapped us in Tongue for 10 extra days. I hadn’t discovered your blog back then, so the links help me to explore it.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 29, 2011 11:18 pm

      I can’t claim any credit for the angle of the sun! 😉 But I am grateful for your kind comments and happy to lead you to older posts where vaguely relevant.

  2. Toffeeapple permalink
    November 29, 2011 3:28 pm

    Beautiful images DB, the first one is fascinating for the prism effect, most atmospheric.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 29, 2011 11:20 pm

      It’s extraordinary, isn’t it? I’d love to know why the camera has picked up that effect, but I have no technical expertise whatsoever so can’t explain it, I just enjoy it.

  3. November 30, 2011 6:43 am

    Loved the photo of the yew. It must be pretty old; it’s a good size for such a slow-growing tree. There are several yew trees in the woods around me, and I love stumbling across them when out walking. I find myself drawn more to those trees than any other around here. As you said once a long time ago, the trees seem to belong to the mountains. That comment has stayed with me, and I think of it when I’m around the yews.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 30, 2011 4:00 pm

      Yews are special, aren’t they: more mysterious than any other tree. The yews on this avenue, interplanted with limes, are just under two centuries old, we think. Which makes them some of our younger ones in fact!

  4. November 30, 2011 10:20 am

    Wow, you have some gorgeous trees over in those parts… “Fallen lime leaves” just sounds like something I need to be a part of!

    I feel like we had the same sort of weather in Paris — I remember this time last year having made a full-sized snowman in the backyard , but this year we got nuthin’. Thanks for the post beastie.

    P.S. “alchemising everyday sights into beautiful new vistas”…what a wonderful little piece of prose that is! 🙂

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 30, 2011 4:05 pm

      Hi Corey! Yup, ‘trees are us’, as my husband says. Everyone ends up as a tree-hugger, living here – you can’t help it. It happened to me, as you see from this blog.

      I can’t wait for some decent frosty weather to arrive. We are ankle-deep in mud here in the sticks!

      By the way, I wondered if someone would pick up on that particular phrase. I think I made up ‘alchemising’ and wasn’t sure if I’d get away with it. Thanks for looking on it with a kindly eye! 😉

Leave a Reply

