Skip to content

Stuck on Skye

November 7, 2011

A fortnight ago we were in Skye. Funny how one instinctively says ‘in Skye’ rather than ‘on Skye’. Perhaps because it is a large island, an area in its own right, that you cannot stand ‘on’ like a child on a boulder. The island encompasses you, absorbs you into its landscape and its own distinctive atmosphere. It is my favourite place to be; and the journey from here to there is one of the most beautiful journeys I know, whether in the crisp air of snowy January, the fresh greens of early summer or the rain and amber gold of autumn.

Autumn colour in Glen Shiel

Inevitably, therefore, I took a sackful of photos during our precious weekend staying with a friend in the south of Skye. Some of these were, naturally, taken with a view to sharing them here.

The Cuillin and Dunscaith from Tokavaig

But now I’m stuck. How wonderful, to be stuck on Skye! No, I am back home, but have spent the past fortnight failing to publish a post about our trip. The difficulty is that everything – the journey, the destination – is so beautiful to my eyes that I’ve been unable to single out which images to show you. (My editing abilities are also impeded at the moment by what seems to be a bit of a relapse in the old brain injury department, leaving me very tired and headachy and generally feeling and acting as if I have mince between the ears.) I am determined to share some of the beauty we saw, however, even if it’s in a series of small posts rather than one properly crafted big one. Watch this space.

The lighthouse at Eilean Iarmain, Sleat

There is an introductory essay on Skye here, which I wrote after an autumn visit last year.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Perpetua permalink
    November 7, 2011 5:20 pm

    Wonderfully atmospheric photos, DB, and a taster of the pleasures to come as you describe your trip, when you feel ready to. Enough is a good as a feast, as my mother always used to say, and I look forward to the next helping. 🙂

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 7, 2011 10:21 pm

      That’s a good saying, isn’t it? I’ll try to serve up a few tasty morsels before long!

  2. Toffeeapple permalink
    November 7, 2011 5:45 pm

    I do hope that you are feeling somewhat better by now. I think small peeks into your trip are easier to ‘digest’ so look forward with interest to seeing more when you are able.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 7, 2011 10:22 pm

      Thanks, Toffeapple, and thanks for your helpful input.

  3. Margaret Lambert permalink
    November 7, 2011 6:08 pm

    I appreciate your posts whenever they arrive! The atmosphere of Sky seems more than a little foggy, aside from what you’re feeling between the ears. It’s hard to imagine that place as balmy, clear and sparkling. It’s wonderful as it is.
    I read recently that rest is key to recovery from brain injuries. Get plenty of it; one day you’ll wonder why you feel different, then you’ll realize it’s because you feel good.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 7, 2011 10:25 pm

      Your comments really cheer me up, Margaret! The link between foggy weather and foggy thinking made me laugh, and I love your positive thinking. 🙂

  4. November 7, 2011 6:52 pm

    The lighthouse is wonderful. I agree. The small posts allow us to savor each item. Thanks for the views

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 7, 2011 10:26 pm

      Thanks for the helpful feedback!

  5. November 7, 2011 7:01 pm

    Stunning photos! Thanks for sharing!

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 7, 2011 10:26 pm

      My pleasure, thank you!

  6. November 7, 2011 9:53 pm

    More Skye, please. I have just left it, bloggishly-speaking, and I’d like more. In particular I want to see it in autumn, having just posted about a first visit to Torridon in autumn. I have to travel with work to Belgium and Kosovo before Christmas, and all I want to do is go back to the west coast of Scotland.

    That jumble of clouds at Sleat is beautiful, especially the outstretched swan’s neck of a cloud.

    Sorry to hear of your brain fog return. If it has returned, it can go again, and hopefully very soon.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 7, 2011 10:33 pm

      Right-oh, will try to keep you provisioned with morsels of Skye while you are travelling! I have very much enjoyed your own posts on it. I love your description here of that cloud as a swan’s neck – I see what you mean. A migrating swan, I’d say!

      Thanks for the positive thoughts. I’m sure I’ll be back on track soon.

  7. Jean S permalink
    November 7, 2011 10:12 pm

    Love these pictures! Post more as you feel able…..

    Perhaps travel itself throws you off? Maybe there are pre- and post-travelling things you can do to limit the brain fog. Sending you all good wishes for a speedy recovery!

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 7, 2011 10:39 pm

      Hello, Jean. Glad you like the pictures, and I promise to post more before long. You are quite right, travel is one of the biggest factors in exacerbating symptoms. Thanks for the good wishes, I’m sure it’s just a blip in the progress chart!

  8. hmunro permalink
    November 8, 2011 11:11 am

    Your observation about being “in” Skye instead of “on” it reminded me of one of my favorite quotes: “Most people are on the world, not in it” (American naturalist John Muir). And you, my dear DB, are very much IN the world. You have *no idea* how many people’s days you brighten with your gorgeous photos and your always-thoughtful musings. So please hang in there through this temporary relapse in the brain injury department. I have every confidence that, with a little rest, you’ll soon be rid of the headaches and the “brain-of-mince” syndrome. Take good care …

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 8, 2011 12:45 pm

      Aw, thanks, Heather. You always brighten my day. I am honoured to be mentioned in the same breath as the great and wise John Muir, who was, of course, a Scot before he became an American.

      • hmunro permalink
        November 8, 2011 6:57 pm

        Heavens! I can’t *believe* I forgot that critical detail about Muir’s life! Boy, is my face red. Grin.

  9. dancingbeastie permalink*
    November 8, 2011 10:42 pm

    Heather: I should think so too. 😉

  10. Val permalink
    November 9, 2011 10:39 pm

    Beautiful, particularly the last photograph.
    I sympathise with the brain fog, I’ve had that on and off for years from various prescription medicines (all of which I’m now off, but the effects linger). I hope it passes for you soon, it’s a horrible feeling being tired and unable to get together the words one needs.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 10, 2011 11:10 pm

      Yes, it is a horrible feeling, isn’t it? I’m sorry you’ve been there. I am struggling a bit at the moment to be honest.
      Anyway, glad you enjoyed the photos. I am trying to get my act together re. another post on Skye!

Leave a Reply

