Skip to content

The Tuesday tree: blazing beeches

November 1, 2011

The autumnal colours have reached their peak in the past week. Brightest of all burn the beeches, ablaze with copper and gold. It is a brief moment of glory: already they are turning to dull crimson, soon to drop their leaves and resume their six months of winter starkness. These few days of blazing glory, though, are worth waiting all the year to see.

 

You might enjoy the ‘dancing’ beech trees in Do the twist, and another look at this time of year in Autumn beech woods.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2011 11:52 pm

    Beautiful Autumn photos! Thanks for sharing!
    Blessings,

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 3, 2011 6:35 pm

      It’s a pleasure, Noelle. Thank you for visiting.

  2. November 2, 2011 2:27 am

    Beautiful colour; I just love that first shot!

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 3, 2011 6:36 pm

      I was lucky to spot that the leaves made a perfect frame for the landscape!

  3. November 2, 2011 7:42 am

    Thank you – you’ve given a much-needed shot of autumn colour to my city life. Even tho I’ll walk through birches and chestnuts on my way to work it’s not the same as a glorious stand of beeches in a natural setting.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 3, 2011 6:38 pm

      No, I’m afraid city trees are usually a bit overwhelmed by their man-made setting. You just can’t beat an autumn beech wood. Joseph Farquharson (he of the over-exposed ‘sheep and snow’ pictures) painted a stunning oil of such a wood once, although I don’t know which lucky collector now has it.

  4. November 2, 2011 9:14 am

    What beautiful photos! That first one is just perfect x

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 3, 2011 6:39 pm

      Thank you, Lucinda. Aren’t beeches wonderful!

  5. November 2, 2011 10:09 am

    Wonderful, DB! Your estate is ravishingly beautiful at any time of year but these colours are fantastic. The drive up to the far north was wonderfully enhanced by the richness of the autumn colours. I think we chose just the right weekend for the journey.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 3, 2011 6:40 pm

      Well, we are extremely lucky. Your drive was perfectly timed, I agree: already the colour has faded and many trees are bare this week.

  6. hmunro permalink
    November 2, 2011 10:32 am

    Ah, DB — lovely post. I can almost feel the crisp fall air. As Perpetua stated so well, “ravishingly beautiful.”

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 3, 2011 6:40 pm

      Thanks, Heather. These trees are like a kind of colour therapy, I think!

  7. deb permalink
    November 2, 2011 9:30 pm

    Beautiful fall color! Here we’ve had over 12 inches of snow, so all of our color is covered in white. It’s very confusing to look out the window – I keep thinking that it’s December!

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 3, 2011 6:43 pm

      We’ve heard about your freak snowstorm but it’s hard to imagine here, where it continues to be mild and wet, and wet, and wet… A couple of years ago, however, we had snow in the third week of October. Like you, we found it very confuzzling to see the orange leaves with snow on them!

  8. November 3, 2011 3:06 am

    Lovely photos as always. The first one made me do a double take because the colors wash out those trees in the far background, making them look like puffs of smoke. Or ghosts of trees, going back to your previous post about haunted castles!

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 3, 2011 6:43 pm

      Oh, what wonderful images. I see what you mean!

  9. Liz permalink
    November 4, 2011 11:19 am

    Thank you so much for the photos of the beeches. I was brought up in Buckinghamshire, which is surely the county of beeches. Where we are now (Warks) we are surrounded by oaks, ash, field maple and sycamore, and lovely as they are they don’t quite have the luminous green of a new beech leaf or the wonderful orange-brown and crunch of fallen beech leaves. I also miss the silkiness of the inside of beech mast.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 4, 2011 3:15 pm

      ‘Beech mast’: thank you for reminding me of that word. Yes, I too like the silky linings to those prickly husks, and I think that the beech has become my favourite tree. Warwickshire used to be well known for its beautiful elms, or so I was told by my father, who grew up there. Of course, sadly they are all gone now.

      • Liz permalink
        November 4, 2011 7:52 pm

        Our neighbour has two young elms in his hedge. Whereabouts was your father from? We’re in a tiny hamlet with a wood all round, though most of it has grown up in the last 50 years. It’s quite easy to see how things return to wildwood in a very short space of time.

  10. dancingbeastie permalink*
    November 5, 2011 3:56 pm

    Liz, my pa was a Scot but grew up in a village called Priors Marston. Lovely bit of the world.

    Apparently there are plenty of young elms about, but they all die off from Dutch Elm Disease at about 20-30 years old. I’m sure that there must be some out there that are developing immunity by now, though, and that could be the forerunners to a new generation of elms. Fingers crossed!

    • Liz permalink
      November 10, 2011 10:38 am

      Ah, Priors Marston is on the other side of the county from us. All very pretty villages over there: I’m sure the stone has something to do with it. We’re over near Henley-in Arden, so much more brick and half-timbered.

      I didn’t know that about elms. I think, in my ignorance, that I thought they had all disappeared in the 1970s. I keep my eye on them, because I wouldn’t put it past the neighbour to chop them down.

  11. Perpetua permalink
    November 5, 2011 8:04 pm

    DB, this is just a test comment using my newly acquired WordPress account. I’m getting so tired of Blogger’s bugs and technical hitches that I’m seriously considering moving my blog to WordPress and have registered my blog title and username as a precaution. any feedback you could give me about platform stability and lack of technical hitches would be much appreciated.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 5, 2011 11:43 pm

      Well, I am utterly illiterate in techy matters, but I have heard of several other bloggers who have made the move for the same reasons as you. I can’t think of any technical hitches at WP that are worth worrying about, and I am happily settled here. I wonder what other bloggers think?

  12. Perpetua permalink
    November 6, 2011 8:35 am

    Many thanks for getting back to me so quickly. I still haven’t made up my mind, as it’s a big decision for a still pretty new and inexperienced blogger like me to take. In many ways I’m very happy with Blogger and would realy miss some of its features which aren’t available on the free version of WordPress, but given the ongoing ‘updating’ on Blogger which I don’t find user-friendly, I’m working on a WP template just in case…

Trackbacks

  1. The Tuesday tree: rotten to the core « Dancing Beastie
  2. An amber Autumn « Dancing Beastie

Leave a Reply

