Skip to content

Cupboard love

September 12, 2011

When the boys are at school, my husband is at work and I am in the quiet kitchen getting on with chores, how lucky I am to have two loving dogs to keep me company. They sit beside me at the kitchen table, one on each side. One, the spaniel, gazes up at me with soft, pleading eyes (spaniels are the masters of this look),

while the other, the West Highland terrier, fixes me with a slightly unnerving stare, mouth slightly open, watching my every movement.

I am the centre of their universe. How wonderful to be so adored. Or…wait a minute…could their attention be anything to do with the task in hand?

Ah yes. How could I have been so naive? Shelling peas from the garden is a job which I always enjoy. The snap of the pod as you break it open, the green, sweet smell of the juice on your fingers, the satisfaction of the steadily growing pile of peas. And all the while one’s mind  is left clear to think, or to chat with a helper, should there be one. I’m not alone in enjoying this chore. When my younger son is about, I have to race him to the pods before he scoops out all the peas and eats them raw. And the dogs, of course, are busy watching not me, but the shelling process. They are waiting for me to drop them a sweet, crunchy empty pod or two, as they know that, sooner or later, I will. Sucker that I am.

Well, they get the pea pods, the family get the peas, and I get the company of my dogs: everybody’s happy. Cupboard love isn’t so bad.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. hmunro permalink
    September 12, 2011 6:05 pm

    What sweet companions you have, DB! If that spaniel were mine he would be spoiled beyond redemption, as I’d be powerless to ever resist those pleading, liquid eyes. And your Westie looks to me as if he’s using a Jedi mind trick: “Drop the peapods. You will drop the peapods, and give me some beef.” Thanks for sharing a little bit of your morning.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      September 13, 2011 4:17 pm

      Oh, I *am* powerless to resist. The spaniel is my baby, my darling – spoilt rotten but still the most kind and gentle dog I know. Funny you should mention Jedi: when the Westie wants something, he makes what we call his Darth Vader noise, a sort of menacing, pointed heavy breathing that you can’t ignore. Breathing with intent, if you like.

  2. Menatra permalink
    September 13, 2011 3:26 am

    Those dogs are SO adorable!! They seem very well groomed too 🙂

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      September 13, 2011 4:18 pm

      Well, thank goodness my camera doesn’t do HD: they are the scruffiest dogs in the neighbourhood! 🙂

  3. September 13, 2011 7:27 am

    You’re loved almost disconcertingly!
    Mmmm, fresh green peas. I used to get in trouble when I was small for grazing so much along the lines of peas. They were my sweet.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      September 13, 2011 4:20 pm

      Hah, yes, exactly. Do you remember the TV show ‘Frasier’? Eddie, the terrier on that, used the same unblinking stare to get what he wanted.

      My son is like you, grazing in the veg patch like Peter Rabbit. He’s the only boy I know who helps himself to parsley, and even wild wood sorrel under the trees. At least I don’t need to worry about scurvy for one of them, anyway!

  4. October 23, 2011 6:54 pm

    My youngest sister has a Westie who has mastered just that look 🙂 My husband is like your son – always preferring the fresh raw peas to the cooked version.

Leave a Reply

