Skip to content

The Tuesday tree: summer shade

July 26, 2011

Until I moved to Castle Beastie, I had never really noticed ash trees. Whether it’s that they are more common in this part of the world than in other places I’ve lived, or that I was just unobservant, I don’t know. Since settling here, though, I have come to notice, to recognise, to appreciate and finally to love the ubiquitous ash (Fraxinus excelsior). In the winter, their tall, gaunt silhouettes scribble a melancholy poem across the afternoon sunsets. But in summer, their neatly paired leaflets cast a lacy green shade, and make a pattern against a blue sky that creates perfect peace and contentment. I wonder if you will agree.

There is more green shade to be found under A guardian of the riverbank.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2011 8:43 pm

    Lovely photos, lovely tree, DB. You know I have a thing about ash trees anyway, don’t you? 🙂

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      July 26, 2011 8:55 pm

      Indeed. Happy to share ours with you!

  2. hmunro permalink
    July 26, 2011 9:24 pm

    “In the winter, their tall, gaunt silhouettes scribble a melancholy poem across the afternoon sunsets.” Your writing is poetry as well, DB. Beautifully said.

    Like you, I never much appreciated ash trees until two years ago, when the Emerald Ash Borer came to town. Since then my husband and I have spent a small fortune trying to protect the ash in our back yard from the deadly invader — with glorious success, I’m happy to say. There is nothing quite so relaxing as lying in the hammock, under the shade of our ash tree’s summer canopy.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      July 26, 2011 10:07 pm

      Oh, that hammock of yours sounds blissful. There’s something so pretty and pleasing about ash leaves as you look up at them. They look exactly like leaves should look, it seems to me: they are quintessentially ‘leafish’.

      As for the Emerald Ash Borer: wow! He sounds like a baddie from Marvel comics! I’m glad you’ve managed to fight him off.

      Thank you as always for your generous praise.

  3. July 27, 2011 5:15 am

    Lovely photos, though I especially liked your description of the ash during winter. We had a bad wind storm this winter that brought down two large cedar trees. This spring I found a small ash tree coming up right against the root ball of one of the cedars. I’m not sure I would have seen it if the ‘parent’ tree hadn’t gone over. This winter I’ll have to come up with some way to mimic the protection it had from the old ones.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      July 27, 2011 12:09 pm

      You must have been sad to lose your cedars. Isn’t it always cheering, though, to find new growth in unexpected places. I hope your little ash survives: even we lost a few trees to the harsh winter this year, and I know that our winter was shorter than yours!

  4. July 27, 2011 7:18 am

    I look forward to your Tuesday Trees – you seem to give a personality to your chosen tree that I so often overlook. We are losing hundreds of ash trees (going the way of the elm, I’m afraid) from that ash borer so I’m trying to take special notice of them.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      July 27, 2011 12:13 pm

      Oh, thank you. I nearly stopped doing them a while back, but there always seems to be something to say about trees…

      This evil Dr. Ash Borer is news to me. It sounds horrific. I suppose it’ll come our way sooner or later. There is something attacking horse chestnuts too. Still, as Lisa (above) reminds me, there is always something happily springing up where something else has gone. But I am the generation that remembers Dutch Elm Disease, yet cannot remember what mature elms looked like. It’s rather sad.

  5. August 25, 2011 1:43 am

    I really liked the article, and the very cool blog

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      August 26, 2011 5:52 pm

      Thank you, and thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

