Skip to content

Under the linden trees, but not in Berlin

July 6, 2011

You don’t have to be in Germany to enjoy a walk unter den linden. Our avenue of Scottish lime trees is about two centuries old now. On sunny summer days (as far as I remember – sigh) the trees make a tunnel of green shade, humming with bees and sweet with the fragrance of the barely noticeable flowers.

See also: Summer’s noisiest trees .

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2011 9:25 pm

    Beautiful photos of wonderful trees, DB, but oh, the flowers can make things so sticky. I always remember coming out of the cathedral after my ordination to the diaconate in late June 1988 to find my car covered with the sticky nectar of the lime tree under which I had unwittingly parked it. i never made that mistake again….:-)

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      July 7, 2011 10:24 pm

      Yes, I’ve made the same mistake in the past! (though never in such memorable circumstances.)

  2. July 10, 2011 9:19 pm

    Hi Dancing Beastie,

    Just a quick note to draw your attention to my latest post “The 7 Links Project” and warn you that I’ve nominated you as one of my list of 5 bloggers to link in with the project. I do hope you don’t mind and that you find it as enjoyable as I have done. I appreciate that you’re busy with the children’s school holidays, but perhaps later on?

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      July 18, 2011 11:23 pm

      Goodness, thank you so much, Perpetua. I really am honoured. I will enjoy thinking about this when I get the chance – I promise to do my bit sooner or later!

  3. July 12, 2011 11:00 am

    The best of summer perfumes, and so sweet in the rain. Just as well…

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      July 18, 2011 11:24 pm

      I never appreciated limes when I lived in town. They seemed to offer nothing but sticky windscreens. It is these beautiful old avenues that have made me savour them and their gifts.

  4. July 18, 2011 9:47 am

    Oh how I miss the green, green trees!! And the rain, and cold… and…

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      July 18, 2011 11:26 pm

      Well, there you go. We are all moaning about the rubbish summer in Scotland, but I’d still take this climate any day over most other options. The green, the green…always available to you at Dancing Beastie! 😉

Trackbacks

  1. The Tuesday tree: last of the limes « Dancing Beastie

Leave a Reply

