Skip to content

After a storm…

June 11, 2011

At the end of another day of heavy rain, this time with thunder and hail, the clouds at last began to roll away. Great billows of mist spread up from the river under the clearing sky, about nine in the evening. Even bad weather can be beautiful.

 

See also: Season of Mists

19 Comments leave one →
  1. maryz permalink
    June 12, 2011 12:02 am

    Gorgeous photos, Beastie!

  2. June 12, 2011 12:06 am

    Gosh, what a picture, DB! Wonderful….

  3. hmunro permalink
    June 12, 2011 12:42 am

    DBeastie! You have *utterly* outdone yourself with this image. It’s one of the most beautiful things I’ve seen in ages. Hats off to you … absolutely glorious.

  4. June 12, 2011 4:15 am

    Is that 9pm? We’re pitch black by then! Lovely pic and I don’t mind bad weather myself, as long as I’m not out in it!

  5. Toffeeapple permalink
    June 12, 2011 10:16 am

    A truly beautiful image.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      June 12, 2011 6:08 pm

      Thank you all for your kind comments. I happened to see this phenomenon out of the window and jumped for my camera. It really was stunning.

      Alaine, as we near midsummer it barely gets properly dark at all here. The northern sky is still a pale greenish-blue at midnight, and we go up to bed without needing to turn the lights on. Of course, in winter it gets dark in the middle of the afternoon!

  6. June 12, 2011 10:39 pm

    Gorgeous photo db – you should enter a competition with that one.

  7. June 12, 2011 11:28 pm

    Stunning picture! So atmospheric.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      June 13, 2011 12:24 pm

      Thank you both. I’m glad you like it – I just got lucky.

  8. June 13, 2011 12:47 pm

    Breathtakingly beautiful! Sometimes it takes dramatic weather to create such beautiful panoramas.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      June 14, 2011 11:00 pm

      Yes, blue-sky weather is a bit of a postcard cliche, isn’t it. I’m a cloud-spotter at heart.

  9. June 14, 2011 4:41 pm

    Where I live many people come up on clear sunny days to see the mountains. But I prefer the storm-drama, the low clouds caught in trees, the mystery of what might be up there in the storm, walking the tops of crags. It fires my imagination. I especially love times like you caught in this photo, when the light comes in under the clouds and illuminates everything. That shade of sunlight is only seen when it gets stirred up with moisture in the air, and if I were a painter I’d struggle to duplicate that shade. Glad we have cameras!

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      June 14, 2011 11:00 pm

      Hi Lisa, nice to hear from you. I completely agree with you about the weather. When I am showing people our hills in the Highlands, I usually feel I should apologise if it isn’t a blue cloudless day; but really I prefer the atmospheric qualities of mist and low cloud, which I think suit the Scottish hills better.

      I’m interested in what you say about the colour of the light being affected by the moisture in the air. I’d never really thought about that before. I’ll be looking out for it now…

  10. June 15, 2011 2:03 am

    It’s like the light becomes a deeper gold, or maybe it’s just the contrast with the dark clouds. A friend swims in our snow-melt white water river, and she says she can tell when fall has arrived because the light underwater changes, too, deepening into that darker gold. She wonders if it isn’t tannins from all the leaves falling into the water, but we decided not to mar the magic of it with too much science. You’re right about mist suiting the Scottish hills better; always reminds me of one of my favorite old songs: ‘The Mist Covered Mountains” which I’m sure you’re familiar with.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      June 15, 2011 12:38 pm

      Haven’t heard that in years – thanks for reminding me! 🙂

  11. June 17, 2011 4:28 pm

    Wow, what a beautiful reminder that there is still beauty in the midst of a storm and right after it just like life. 🙂 I love the photo. It’s stunning indeed.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      June 17, 2011 11:26 pm

      Yes indeed, it makes a good metaphor for life. Thank you for pointing that out, I really like it!

Trackbacks

  1. Summer thunderstorm « Dancing Beastie
  2. Fiery forest sunset | Dancing Beastie

Leave a Reply

