Skip to content

an antidote to grey

February 17, 2011

On grey, dreich days like today is here, it is easy to feel literally ‘under the weather’. Morose and negative, in need of a duvet day. Bright colour is what is lacking in the outside world: luckily, I have a few bright spots of it in my kitchen to help to cheer me up. If you, too, are in need of some colour therapy, perhaps these will help just a little…

A wee pot of primulas from the village shop: subtle they are not. I bought the most garishly pink ones I could find.

 

A tin of toffees from my kind sister-in-law, in a wonderfully old-fashioned tin. (Just as well I like the tin, as the contents are all going into the tummies of my little boys!)

 

And some primary colours on the window-sill: little têteà-tête daffodils flowering in a favourite blue jug, next to a couple of local finds.

 

Here’s hoping for sunny skies for the end of the week.

See also: Friday flowers; Cheer up!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 5:37 pm

    I ADORE blue and white china (or tiles – or linen) – so you have got me straight away with your lovely (Copeland?) jug and the narcissi – pure springtime. I totally agree also with you finding – and displaying – those raucously pink primulas – after this past winter, we do indeed crave colour!
    (I’m blowing the sunny weather that we have had here today (North Hants) in a northwards direction, towards you :-).

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      February 17, 2011 7:18 pm

      I too have a weakness for blue-and-white. You are clearly a connoisseur, recognising the Copeland Spode! This is a favourite jug (thanks Mum!) which has featured here before: see a post from Feb 13th 2010, called ‘Have a heart: pottery’. (Please someone tell me how to put links in comment boxes…). Or check on ‘vintage treasures’ in the tag cloud for one or two more examples, though there is more kicking about here that I should share.

      Thank you for the sunshine – hope it reaches us soon!

  2. Margaret Lambert permalink
    February 17, 2011 6:29 pm

    The primulas are fabulous! They were meant for gray days…actually I have always loved to wear that color combination- gray flannel trousers with a white shirt and some COLOR! in a scarf or shoes.
    I see Roz spotted your old Blue Italian jug. She has been a friend since I discovered her blog a few years ago, and now on Facebook and emails. Living in a slightly remote area myself, I love my links around the world.

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      February 17, 2011 7:26 pm

      These little connections across the blogosphere are a delight, aren’t they? It’s always fun to ‘recognise’ someone commenting on another blog.

      Your colour combinations sound lovely. I am a huge fan of light grey with a splash of colour: of course, after looking at these flowers, I am thinking spring green or bright pink. Once, years ago, I had a ‘pink’ birthday party: it was only seeing my friends gamely turning up en masse in shades of pink that I realised how drably most of us usually dress. (And here am I sitting in dark blue and black: note to self – for goodness sake woman, get some more pink in your life!!) I shall take a leaf out of your book and go in search of a colourful scarf.

  3. February 18, 2011 12:10 am

    Thankfully today was gloriously sunny, a very nice surprise, but what it did make me realise is that everything is still very drab. No green yet, no flowers, no colour! So these splashes of colour you have shared are just wonderful. A delight to see them. And yes colourful scarves, work a treat with almost every outfit when one needs perking up.

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      February 18, 2011 12:21 am

      Glad to hear that someone in the northern hemisphere is getting some sun at least! 🙂

  4. February 18, 2011 8:50 pm

    all lovely and bright. I’m loving the heart and the blue and white jug.
    by the way – thanks for dropping over to the other side of the planet!

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      February 21, 2011 12:45 pm

      My pleasure 🙂

  5. February 20, 2011 7:21 pm

    Wonderful pictures and love the touch of yellow and green with the Copeland jug. I am refreshing my colour sense working with some delicious and shimmery violet, green and magenta silks while restoring a 1928 crazy quilt which is a family heirloom. Last night I embroidered starflowers in pink and green on a lilac block I’m popping in to cover one that has had the silk shatter and disappear.
    I was gratified to read in yesterday’s paper that National Forest land will not be sold off to the highest bidder!! Congratulations for your part in preventing that retrograde step!!!

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      February 21, 2011 12:47 pm

      Good news, isn’t it – nice to have some.
      The colours you are working with sound delicious, and I like the sound of a 1920s crazy quilt. I wonder who was the first quilter in your family.

  6. February 21, 2011 3:09 pm

    So so grim, grey and drizzley here too! But those tete a tete are so superbly cheerful, and make the promise of spring seem that much nearer. I too am filling the house with flowers and looking ahead to brighter days.

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      February 21, 2011 7:06 pm

      It always seems to me a bit of a naughty extravagance to buy spring flowers (every year I mean to plant my own bulbs, and almost every year I fail to get round to it in time) – but they are so very good for morale at this bleak time of year, that perhaps we can justify them on mental health grounds. 🙂

  7. February 21, 2011 3:39 pm

    I know what you mean! I’m getting a bit tired of grim weather too, but you’re right that we can brighten our days with indoor color.

    Love the little glimpses into your home!

Trackbacks

  1. Friday flowers « Dancing Beastie
  2. Cabin fever | Dancing Beastie

Leave a Reply

