Skip to content

The Tuesday tree: still winter here, how about you?

February 15, 2011

The good news, the snowdrops are out! And the other good news is, we are still getting the odd snowfall. At this time of year it doesn’t last long – this morning’s freshly white hills are now soggy brown ones – but I still love it when it comes. Here is a beech tree near the castle, photographed last week in all its brief, feathery white magic.

 

See also: The Tuesday tree: snowbound

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2011 5:32 pm

    We too have snowdrops but no snow, although with a bitterly easterly wind, it feels cold enough for snow. Your tree looks so beautiful, I love the transiant beauty of a snowfall, hope we get some soon.

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      February 15, 2011 10:47 pm

      This is the time of year, isn’t it, when we never know what we’ll get from one day to the next. I suppose that’s half the fun! Nice to hear from you.

  2. Margaret Lambert permalink
    February 15, 2011 8:21 pm

    No snowdrops and no snow, though we have had our share this winter. I try not to complain when the temperature plummets, and it certainly has, or when the snow lingers too long.
    I’ve loved your photos of frost on trees, plants and windows.

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      February 15, 2011 10:48 pm

      Thank you, Margaret. I’m sure you’ve had more of a winter than we have: our severe weather is rare enough to be enjoyable!

  3. February 15, 2011 9:44 pm

    Winter is still here and will be for another month. There is currently 2 feet of snow covering my gardens.

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      February 15, 2011 10:59 pm

      Goodness, looking at some of your photos, I feel like a real lightweight over here! 🙂 We almost never get that kind of snow dump. It’s absolutely beautiful, but how you must be longing for green grass by now…

  4. February 16, 2011 1:51 pm

    My snowdrops are under 3 feet of snow (in Maine). Love your gorgeous tree photos!

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      February 16, 2011 5:37 pm

      Thank you very much. And I hope your snowdrops are keeping cosy under their quilt.

  5. Deb permalink
    February 16, 2011 10:49 pm

    We also still have 3 feet of snow (at least)! I don’t have snowdrops, but I’m anxiously awaiting the first sight of some orange daffodils and tulips I plated in the fall. I’m looking forward to some color.

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      February 17, 2011 12:24 pm

      Ah, those tall spring bulbs are like a reward for the long months of winter, aren’t they? Something wonderful to look forward to.

  6. February 16, 2011 11:09 pm

    Beautiful tree – love this one and the Valentine one.

    You won’t recognise me (blush) but I’m Wendy from Australia – if you recall – just thought I’d announce myself as you wouldn’t recognise the blog name – and yes I have my own blog now if you’d like to pop over! Very amateurish and poor photography – but it’s a learning curve.

    I love to visit your blog on hot days here for a cooling rush of frostiness!
    Cheers wendy

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      February 17, 2011 3:45 pm

      Oh, Wendy, good on for you for starting a blog. It looks beautiful! Funnily enough your comments still come up under your own name – to prove I remember you (of course), maybe! Have fun with blogging…

  7. February 17, 2011 3:03 pm

    The picture of the tree is breathtaking!!! All last week when there was photogenic stuff outside my door, I waas housebound with no fresh batteries for my camera, which sulked and pouted, so no great pictures from this quarter. We are under about two or two and a half feet of snow like most of the northern atlantic seaboard of North America and temps are still somewhat frigid; although the sun is strong enough now to melt things at noon, by dusk it is quite cold again – still a month or so before most of this will be gone, and then mud season – oh joy! can hardly wait until real spring!

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      February 17, 2011 3:50 pm

      Luckily there is a window which faces this tree, so I was able to get a shot from half way up, as it were. It’s nice to get a different perspective, as most of my tree pictures are inevitably from the ground up.

      I can’t believe how much snow there seems to be for people all up the E. coast of the US and Canada. Is it more than normal? I know you’ve had some bad storms. For us, Feb and March are usually ‘mud season’ as you so aptly put it, and they are my least favourite months. It’s not until well into April that the real, blessed, green-ness starts to show.

  8. February 23, 2011 8:58 am

    hi, i’ve been commenting on several of your blogs without introducing myself first, how improper. My name is Lenti from Indonesia. Here there’s no snow, so i kinda lost with your term… however i cannot but gasp in the beauty of your photograph. Thanks for making it available. 🙂

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      February 23, 2011 10:48 am

      Selamat datang, Lenti! 🙂 I’m really glad that you are enjoying my photos of this lovely place.

Leave a Reply

