Skip to content

Winter solstice

December 21, 2010
tags:

A small copse of sycamores behind an ancient standing stone.

Long shadows, late morning.

Darkness by teatime, despite the full moon on snow

‘Better to light a candle than to curse the darkness.’

 

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2010 12:18 am

    Good Evening Beastie: I’m signed in as my alter ego, redkettle and I think this signature will give you a link to the blog where the article about the Huron Carol is posted. If not, go to my http://www.quiltingwithjanet.blogspot.com and check today’s post – I have a link to redkettle’s blog there.
    The gift to be drawn is an especially attractive one, I think ~ do please enter the draw. Although geared to children and youth it’s the sort of book and cd that would appeal to anyone.

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      December 21, 2010 3:53 pm

      Thanks for the link. I have commented over at Red Kettle. The carol itself is quite magical, I think – and what a story there is behind it, a little like ‘The Mission’, full of love and empathy and horror.

  2. Jessica permalink
    December 21, 2010 1:32 am

    Happy Solstice to you, my friend. Lang may yer lum reek, and may yer boiler experience a speedy recovery.

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      December 21, 2010 3:29 pm

      And to you, and thank you for your good wishes! The lum is reeking away happily and I am in the cosy chair by the fire, so life is fine. I hope yours is too.

  3. December 21, 2010 12:05 pm

    Happy Winter Solstice, and lovely, pertinent quote.

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      December 21, 2010 3:27 pm

      And a happy solstice to you too. The days are getting longer now!

  4. Erika W. permalink
    December 21, 2010 1:22 pm

    While you and your husband grit your teeth and stoke the boiler and fires your children will indeed have wonderful memories. I can remember with bliss two winters in Poland which were colder than usual–schools actually closed (very unusual) and bonfires at street corners to raise the air temperature. and snow, snow everywhere. I am pondering “Lang may yer lum reek”! I know I have heard or read this. Can it be from Burns> It does sound like a runny nose I’m afraid…
    Do you know the children’s book “Five Dog Night”? Definitely time for you to take the dogs to bed with you.

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      December 21, 2010 3:38 pm

      I like your interpretation of Jessica’s quote! It’s just a traditional good wish meaning ‘Long may your chimney smoke’. A very appropriate greeting in our current weather!

      I don’t know the book you mention but will try to track it down, as it sounds great. It reminds me of one of my favourite New Yorker cartoons: a woman showing her guest into a spare room where the bed is covered with dogs, and saying, ‘It’s a little chilly, so we’ve put an extra dog on your bed.’

  5. Deb permalink
    December 22, 2010 1:45 am

    After a brief break in following your posts due to a death in my family, I am: amazed at your resilience and strength in dealing with your head injury, sympathetic with your weather woes (but glad that we don’t have them yet here in Massachusetts), impressed with the magnitude of household difficulties involved with owning a castle, and pleased to realize that the days are lengthening in spite of how deep the darkness now seems. The last is something especially heartening right now. Thank you for reminding me.

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      December 22, 2010 3:09 pm

      I’m sorry for your bereavement, Deb. Thank you for coming back to read and for your generous comments. The days are getting longer – it is a good thought, isn’t it, in these dark days.

Trackbacks

  1. Darkness and light « Dancing Beastie
  2. The Tuesday tree: green sycamore « Dancing Beastie

Leave a Reply

