Skip to content

Sunlit details

November 22, 2010

Mondays are for images, not words, I feel. Here is texture, detail, subtle colour.

Sun and frost make marvels of the commonplace: fallen leaves; shiny red berries against a grey stone wall, old tree-roots furred with moss like antlers in velvet. And of the uncommon too: every detail of the stonework on the castle’s towers is picked out by the sunlight, as if the coat of arms, carved in 1616 to commemorate the marriage of a laird, had been finished just last week.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2010 1:49 pm

    I do love how frost transforms things! These lovely images have brightened up my Monday, thank you.

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      November 22, 2010 2:22 pm

      Thanks – that was the intention, glad it worked!

  2. November 22, 2010 3:15 pm

    I do love a good frost. Except on my car windows. Though, with all the newer ways of keeping the warm air inside and the cold air outside, I do miss the frosty patterns on the (house) windows.
    Am waiting, patiently for our first snowfall.

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      November 22, 2010 5:35 pm

      So are we – it’s due here any time now…

  3. November 22, 2010 7:47 pm

    Magical photos again, Beastie! Here we are awaiting snow, and although none is falling yet it is so damp and still I can almost feel it on my skin as I nip in and out carrying in wood for the stove. The corn (maize) crop is as dry as it will get and is being harvested at breakneck speed across the road and also on the acreage behind me. Spilled grain is everywhere and the ravens and squirrels are feasting!
    As for your little boy’s birthday cake – what a treat – too bad there are no longer small children around the house or even as grands, as I feel that sort of creativity calling to me!
    Knitting warm caps will have to do!

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      November 22, 2010 10:52 pm

      Those who can, knit: those who can’t, bake! I love your descriptions.

  4. November 22, 2010 10:11 pm

    Fantastic Photos! Thanks for sharing your Scotland frost with us.

  5. November 23, 2010 12:14 pm

    Fab photos as usual, keep them coming. I loved chatting with you at the Country Living fair, so nice to put a face to the photographer.

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      November 23, 2010 12:16 pm

      Thank you. It was really nice to meet you too, and my wee boy is thrilled with his Cat in the Hat purse! Hope the weekend went well for you.

  6. November 24, 2010 10:09 pm

    I’m behind myself as usual! Lovely photos. Next time you visit please help me get an eye for detail! I just love the photos you take of “hidden” details that are before our very eyes!

Trackbacks

  1. Frosty morning « Dancing Beastie
  2. Autumn glow | Dancing Beastie

Leave a Reply

