Skip to content

Pathetic fallacy

November 5, 2010

On my own today I am feeling a little melancholy, and the weather seems to echo and reinforce my mood. It is tempting to stay inside and hibernate. Exercise always helps, however, and the dogs needed a walk this morning, so I tipped them out of their warm bed by the Aga and off we set into the chilly rain.

Once outside, we all perked up a little. The colours are so beautiful at the moment, in their last glory, that they cannot fail to lift the spirits.

The cock pheasants share the colours of the beech leaves: you can just see one in this field, looking important as the cocks usually do.

Under the trees, there is still a fairyland of toadstools.

It was quite dark under the canopy of the trees. Not much was stirring except for the steady rustle and drip of the rain on leaves, branches and hat.

Even in this dull light, though, the beeches looked beautiful.

Up the steps towards the castle: these nineteenth-century steps have seen better days and seem to be crumbling back into the woods.

I like them like this, though. Mossy and sad and quiet.

Yesterday, a salesman turned up at the castle and tried to persuade me to buy some topiary that he ‘appened to ‘ave in the back of his van: potted box pyramids, pom-poms and twirls. I explained as tactfully as I could that we are not ‘that sort of posh’ . As he glanced around at our flaking stonework and shaggy trees, I think he realised that we were a lost cause. Perhaps he didn’t see the beauty in this crumbling melancholy.

For anyone who grew up with Jane Eyre and Tess of the D’Urbevilles, though, these surroundings are perfect on a dismal day.

Nevertheless, I am going to kick myself out of this mood this weekend. I am going to a craft fair organised by the joint talents of Lisa at Primrose Hill and Katie at Vintage Squirrel, where perhaps I shall find some lovely Christmas presents. And on the way, I shall cheer myself up by doing what I can only – out of common humanity – do on my own in the car: warble along like a banshee with Kate Bush on ‘Wuthering Heights’. Inspired by Emily Brontë, passionate, mad and impossible to sing without getting the giggles, this song has to be one of the best antidotes to Romantic melancholia that I know.

 

20 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2010 7:44 pm

    Hello Beastie,
    I’m planning to be there too, perhaps we’ll meet!
    Anne

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      November 5, 2010 8:50 pm

      That would be great! Introduce yourself to Lisa and Katie if you don’t already know them, then they can introduce us.

  2. Wendy permalink
    November 5, 2010 10:01 pm

    I think it is nice to indulge in those sort of moods occasionally – particularly when you can pretend you are part of a movie! Have a great day out – enjoy.

  3. Margaret Lambert permalink
    November 6, 2010 4:05 am

    It seems absurd to say that there are times when I crave an atmospheric day with fog, low clouds, anything but more blazing sun. Today wasn’t one of those because it was so richly colored, a postcard autumn day.
    I like the slightly decayed beauty of your steps and ornaments. If the urn threatens to topple or the steps throw you down, you might have to make repairs. But think how long it takes the “new” to settle in again to that mellow state. No rush. No tortured topiaries.
    Enjoy the excursion!

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      November 7, 2010 3:06 pm

      Not absurd at all: we moan about the weather here but you are right, mist and dampness is far more atmospheric than constant sunshine. And it gives us our wonderful green landscape.

      The fair was great, thanks!

  4. November 6, 2010 10:31 am

    I am with you I love the romantic moss covered steps.

  5. November 7, 2010 2:54 pm

    Thank you so much for the ‘plug’ and thank you for coming along to the fair. I think we had about 500 people through the door. I’ll let you know how much we raised for H4H once we have a figure.

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      November 7, 2010 3:08 pm

      Great numbers! Hope you are having some time to relax today after all your hard work.

  6. November 7, 2010 5:56 pm

    Thank you for the beautiful autumnal pictures! And I too love the moss covered steps and the leaning urn! A little melancholy is good for the soul I think…. though not too much 😉

    But getting out in the fresh air and beautiful grounds with the dogs must lift any spirit.

  7. November 8, 2010 5:42 pm

    I got laughed at the other day (cold windy and slightly frosty) when while driving past a cemetery I wanted to stop and take photos. But it was gorgeous while covered with fallen leaves, some of which were swirling around in the wind, Gravestones covered with patches of moss and frost and with a large old church looming in the background.
    Things slowly moulding their way back into nature are always more beautiful.

  8. November 21, 2012 6:28 pm

    I like the well-weathered look too. Benches silvered by the sun and moss and ferns growing perhaps where an avid gardener would get rid of them. Hope you got a good haul at the fair 🙂 Jo

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 21, 2012 9:50 pm

      Oh, they have lovely stuff!

  9. November 22, 2012 4:17 am

    Thanks for providing the link to this old post. It’s lovely. And, of course, thanks for the new pix of the puppy. So precious!

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 22, 2012 5:04 pm

      Glad you enjoyed them both, thanks for letting me know. Who can resist puppy pictures?!

  10. November 23, 2012 1:30 pm

    I must prefer ‘lived in’ to perfect…

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      November 24, 2012 11:41 pm

      Oh, so do I. Just as well really!

  11. July 21, 2013 2:23 am

    Each post I read increases my conviction that we are kindred spirits! This one might be my new favorite.

Trackbacks

  1. The Tuesday tree: frost « Dancing Beastie
  2. Darkness and light « Dancing Beastie
  3. A friend in need… « Dancing Beastie

Leave a Reply

