Skip to content

The Tuesday Tree: a blazing gean

November 2, 2010

Some of the trees are almost bare of leaves now, the birches, ash and sweet chestnuts in particular. Others, however, are alight in their last blaze of autumnal glory.

While the beeches are looking fiery, the sycamores (left, centre ground) are doing their usual thing of quietly fading from dull green to dull brown. Behind them you can see a line of oaks which are mostly still green, although some have started to turn (extreme right foreground, for example). The conifers are still dark, of course, except for the larches up on the hill in the distance, which you can see have turned golden yellow before their needles drop. But what is this towards the front? Our ancient mis-shapen gean, which I think of as the quintessential May tree, has put on another show for autumn.

A week ago, the side of the gean facing the sun (on the left as you look at her) was orange ,while the smaller bough to the right was still green. Yesterday, when I took this photo, the sun-side was red while the shaded side was orange. This morning, after rain in the night, she has a red carpet laid around her feet and her top-most branches are bare. With her swaying asymmetry, I think she looks as if she is dancing off her leaves.

See also: Tuesday’s Tree: the May Queen

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 8:35 am

    Gosh it’s so beautiful where you are! It makes me very happy to look at your photos as i’ve just decided to move to Scotland next summer so I’ll be able to come and see and feel the colours for myself.

    I love the way that all the trees are so different and individual, even within the species. I suspect I could become a massive tree geek without very much of a push at all. The gean is beautiful – I hadn’t heard of it but I have just quickly looked it up and it says it’s a wild cherry tree. Wonderful.

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      November 3, 2010 11:11 am

      Thanks for visiting. I have enjoyed looking at your own blogs old and new – and the beguiling links to interesting people and places (Copenhagen, crafts, books, coffee, Africa…). Ethiopia is on my ‘places to visit before I’m too decrepit to travel’ list, so I was very interested to hear you have been. And now Scotland! Do you know where, yet?

      As for the trees, I suspect that I HAVE become a massive tree geek. It’s hard not to be, here.

  2. November 3, 2010 8:49 pm

    All so beautiful, I have been taking so many photos of trees recently but I can never quite capture the beauty of the whole scene.

Trackbacks

  1. The Tuesday tree: the white lady « Dancing Beastie

Leave a Reply

