Skip to content

a better steam engine cake

October 4, 2010
tags: ,

Just like last year, my elder son requested a chocolate steam engine cake for his birthday. (This is more straightforward than it sounds, as I have a wonderful steam engine-shaped cake tin.)

‘Only please,’ he added on the phone from his new boarding school, ‘could you decorate it differently this year?’

Looking back at last year’s effort, I could see that there was indeed room for improvement.  Chocolate icing (frosting) may taste good, but it makes for a pretty dingy-looking steam engine. After a little thought, therefore, I made an executive decision to use coloured icing this year. The dilemma was, red – like the Hogwarts Express – or green, like the Flying Scotsman? Actually, it wasn’t much of a dilemma, as a moment’s more thought made me realise that mixing red food colouring into white icing would produce a pink steam engine. (I’m a quick lass, you know.) Now, a four-year-old boy might be happy with a pink cake, but a nine-year-old would never live it down amongst his friends. (I don’t make the rules.) Behold, then, a green steam engine, resplendent with edible ball bearings and a yellow Smartie headlight. It’s not professional, but it’s made with love.

I think I got the mixture better this year, too. The recipe given on the cake tin goes down fine with children, but is heavy and unappetising to adults. Last year’s Claire Macdonald recipe was delectable to adults but too rich for children. This year, then, I fell back on my trusty old Victoria sponge recipe, which has been my standby since I first started baking cakes as a child of nine or ten, and which everybody enjoys. I think of it as my mum’s recipe, but I’m pretty sure that it is originally from Mary Berry’s ‘Cooking for Your Freezer’, circa nineteen seventy-something. If you want a great, easy, fail-safe cake recipe, this is it:

6 oz (175 g) each of soft-ish butter or margarine, caster sugar and self-raising flour, plus 3 whole eggs. (For a big birthday cake, like the steam engine, I double these quantities.)

Cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Meanwhile sift the flour into a separate bowl. In a third bowl, beat the eggs until frothy.

Blend the eggs gradually into the creamed butter mixture. If it looks like curdling, fold in a little of the flour with the eggs. (This is especially important if you are using double quantities.)

Fold in the remaining flour until well blended, and then tip the mixture into the greased cake tin. (For a regular cake, use 2 seven or eight inch sandwich tins.)

Bake at about 190 degrees Celsius for about 20-25 minutes. Cool. Ice. Eat.

You can add pretty much anything to this basic mixture. For a chocolate sponge, just replace 1 oz (25 g) of the flour with 1 oz sieved cocoa powder. For coffee, dissolve 1 heaped teaspoon of instant coffee in the beaten eggs before you add them to the mixture; and you could add 2 oz chopped walnuts at the same time as adding the flour. For an orange cake (my favourite), add the finely grated rind of an orange to the creamed mixture, and sandwich the cake together with lemon or orange curd. Mary Berry, you haven’t done my waistline much good over the years, but you have certainly added to the sum of this family’s happiness!

See also: one chuff-chuffed little boy; new beginningsa gender-neutral birthday cake

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2010 11:56 am

    The blog seems to be a nice one. I liked the post. The post is to emotional. also i liked the steam engine shaped cake. I saw it in my life for the first time.

  2. Margaret Lambert permalink
    October 4, 2010 3:46 pm

    Charming and age appropriate. Who knew that a birthday cake would require such delicate consideration? You made clever use of sprinkles, stars and smarties!

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      October 4, 2010 4:56 pm

      Aw, thanks (*blushes*)!

  3. October 4, 2010 10:04 pm

    Very cute cake. I’m glad I’m past those days, I’ve made quite a few themed cakes for my kids. Now they request cheesecake, not hard to make and I don’t even have to frost it!!
    On another note – we booked our airfare for Scotland today. Our trip is still 8 months away, but we are getting so excited.

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      October 5, 2010 2:52 pm

      It’s fun making cakes and decorating is the best bit, as far as I’m concerned. Ooh, cheesecake, though…slurp…
      Glad your Scotland plans are taking shape!

  4. October 5, 2010 2:16 pm

    I love the stars coming out of the chimney!

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      October 5, 2010 2:51 pm

      I think the stars are my favourite bit too. They were a great find.

  5. October 5, 2010 6:54 pm

    This looks like it would be fun to eat, section by section. I’m not overly fond of icing, so a wheel would suit me (because I do love Smarties). The stars are great!

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      October 5, 2010 7:19 pm

      You could share a piece with my four-year-old: he just picks off the icing and leaves the cake! There might be a power struggle over the Smarties though.

  6. October 9, 2010 11:44 pm

    OOOh looks delicious!! I’m glad it was acceptable fare for young boys! I would be fighting with younger son though for the icing and sprinkles! And new school for elder son is a success??

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      October 10, 2010 11:02 pm

      Yes thanks, Sian, all going really well and happily. Huge relief.

Leave a Reply

