Skip to content

Friday flowers

September 17, 2010

Summer and Autumn flowers are growing together in the garden at the moment, in the last glorious burst of colour before frosts and rains put paid to all but the hardiest blooms. Yesterday – along with the first two ripe apples (hurray!) and another handful of blackberries – I picked a bunch of my favourite pink and lilac sweet peas, then drifted on to whatever else was flowering. Extrovert magenta cosmos, shouty yellow chrysanthemums. Back at the house, I put them all together in a blue and white jug and just delighted in the singing colours. So I thought I’d share them with you. Have a lovely weekend.

See also: unjustified flowers, happy Easter

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Margaret Lambert permalink
    September 17, 2010 5:40 pm

    Your garden flowers are prettier than anything from a florist. And the “Blue Italian” jug is a perfect container for them, in the kitchen or where ever they are.

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      September 17, 2010 6:25 pm

      Ah, you recognise the pattern! I am a sucker for classic blue and white.

  2. September 18, 2010 8:34 am

    What a pretty bunch of blooms. Posies in jugs always make me smile when I come into a room.

    Thanks for your lovely comments on my blog. Enjoy the weekend.
    Stephx

  3. Mary Carver-Stiehler permalink
    September 18, 2010 12:53 pm

    What vibrant colors! Displayed in blue and white is perfect. Have a very happy Week-end!
    Mary

  4. Wendy permalink
    September 18, 2010 10:59 pm

    Such a pretty mix in your little blue jug. Classic.

  5. September 21, 2010 1:14 am

    Hi Beastie: Thank you for sharing such a pretty bouquet – we sometimes forget that the old fashioned flowers like sweet peas are the best. What are the umbels of pretty pink flowers looking a little like tiny carnations?

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      September 21, 2010 5:11 pm

      Ah, yes. I was hoping no-one was going to ask me that…! I can’t remember – we grow them for drying, really – so I guess that makes them another fine example of Amnesias. I have rather a lot of Amnesias in my garden…

  6. September 21, 2010 11:34 am

    They are gorgeous

  7. September 21, 2010 5:23 pm

    Hi Beastie: would you consider exchanging some amnesias (lol) seeds for what have you?
    I think I may have some seeds for a lovely provence melon I’ve been thinking of trying to grow here – if this summer – hot, damp and muggy was any indicator, it may be possible with global warming.
    I’ve have fallen in love with those pibk flowers!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. in praise of snowdrops « Dancing Beastie
  2. First flowers from the garden « Dancing Beastie
  3. Are these the happiest flowers in the garden? « Dancing Beastie

Leave a Reply

