Skip to content

we interrupt this blog to bring you the summer holidays

July 2, 2010

Like any creative endeavour, writing seems to me to be an activity best suited to the introspective winter months. It seems harder to find the necessary stillness and focus on sunny days and long light evenings. If I have struggled a bit recently, however, it is as nothing to the distractions that are about to burst upon me. For the school year ends at noon on Friday – TODAY! – and, from this afternoon until the end of the first week of September, I am going to be in full mummy/ hostess mode for our boys and the many visitors who come and go over the summer.

So the mystery is, how does any mother find the time to think, let alone write, in the middle of the summer holidays? The solution escapes me, but I intend to address it diligently over the next two months. If I publish a post, you’ll know I’m making progress.

Please forgive me, therefore, if Dancing Beastie is a little erratic in the immediate future. We have lots of happy plans, some of them involving travel, some of them closer to home. I would like to find time to write about the more interesting ones, and I hope that you, too, have happy days on the horizon.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2010 11:38 am

    I do agree, it won’t be easy to write during the holidays but I hope to snatch a little time here and there! Happy summer holidays, Dancing Beastie, hope you have lots of fun! We are looking forward to picnics, camping and al fresco meals!

  2. Wendy permalink
    July 3, 2010 7:03 am

    Hope you have a happy and relaxing summer holiday-time! It’s nice to be in the full time mother role when it’s possible. Look forward to hearing of your adventures. Have fun! (PS I’m loving the vintage book look)

  3. July 3, 2010 10:14 am

    Enjoy your time with your boys; my daughter has three and I know how busy holidays can be!

  4. July 10, 2010 11:23 pm

    Have a super summer break. I find it’s good to get away from writing or drawing for a period of time. The most creative ideas come when I’m washing the floor, or sitting on a beach or cloud gazing – just being. I too will soon have a break methinks – shattered. it’s good to spend time with loved ones – enjoyx Look forward to your returnx

  5. July 12, 2010 12:47 am

    I’ve enjoyed visiting your blog. I am finally beginning to plan my Scotland trip. My ancestors are from the Fettercairn, Kincardine area and I’ve been wanting to visit their land for many years. My g-g-grandfather came to America in 1836. Your pictures are wonderful. Scotland weather and seasons look and sound very much like ours (upstate New York) I have been thinking of traveling in April but wonder if I’d be better off waiting until the end of June. I have to work around my daughter’s schedule (school teacher) and our school year seems to be the same as yours. Enjoy your summer vacation. I loved having my children home all summer and hated to send them back to school.

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      July 15, 2010 10:46 pm

      thanks for visiting, Bonnie. April is still pretty cold in Scotland with snow on the hills and not a great deal of greenery other than daffodils. End of June is usually very pretty. May and June are usually our sunniest months, before the prevailing weather systems swing around to the west and bring rain just as the summer tourists arrive!

Trackbacks

  1. On the brink of the summer holidays « Dancing Beastie
  2. busy, back soon « Dancing Beastie
  3. Hot and happy | Dancing Beastie

Leave a Reply

