Skip to content

Centenary prize

June 4, 2010

This being my first giveaway, I hadn’t realised quite how brutal it is picking a winner. I wanted all of you to win! Now I understand something of the demoralising trend in education for having no competitiveness and thus no losers. However, we are made of stiffer sinews than that, are we not. Therefore….time to announce the winner, as picked out of a quaich by my husband (oh, the pressure – he’s had to go back to his office to have a rest).

I will be sending the Dancing Beastie postcards, book of British trees and delicious Scottish tablet to Janet Gordon in Nova Scotia. From auld Scotland to new Scotland, then! Janet, I’ll post them out to the address given in your website. Hope they reach you safely – and that you enjoy them.

We couldn’t resist pulling two more names out after that, so Violet Sky and Katie, if you would each like a token runner’s up prize of a couple of Dancing Beastie postcards, please email your postal addresses to dancing.beastie@hotmail.com. I’m sorry that I haven’t got any more to give: I think I should get some more printed for future giveaways! Thank you all so much for entering and, much more importantly, for visiting Dancing Beastie in the first place.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2010 4:27 pm

    Congratulations, Janet!

    And thank you, Beastie. I would love to receive some of your postcards. I will add them to my collection and display them proudly.

  2. June 4, 2010 8:51 pm

    Hosting giveaways is so fun but also so difficult because that one name seems so little compared to all those in the hat. But it’s so great to know that something special will be landing in the post for someone else. The pleasure of receiving something in the mail is rare these days. Congrats to the winners!

  3. June 4, 2010 9:08 pm

    I disappear for a few days and miss goodies!!! Wail! Tee Hee! Belated congratulations on your 100th post. Long may you continue to share your life and trees with the rest of us 🙂

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      June 4, 2010 9:35 pm

      Aw, Sian, I was afraid you were going to miss the chance of entering. Unfortunate timing! Better luck next time, eh (so I’d better make sure there is a next time!).

  4. June 5, 2010 6:25 pm

    How wonderful – I am so chuffed, thank you very much!

  5. June 18, 2010 11:14 pm

    Hi Katie/Beastie: I can’t tell you how thrilled I was to collect my mail today at the tiny local (8 miles away) Post Office and as soon as I got home I had it open!! Beautiful cards – I already have my favourites, but they are all winners. The book I will treasure – many of the trees are somewhat similar – maybe a different species from what I’m familiar with, but close enough to draw parallels. And the tablet!!! I nibbled a small corner, and then a larger piece of the corner and discovered that it is what we call fudge here, and fudge of the very best quality – similar to that made by my mother who passed away at 91 almost 20 years ago. Melt in the mouth and absolutely delicious!
    Thank you thank you thank you – I seldom get wrapped gifts in the mail and will treasure the experience. Check mycurrent post at http://www.quiltingwithjanet.blogspot.com in a few days and you will see pictures of my treasures. Even the wrapping paper was special!
    Janet on a perfectly lovely Friday evening in Nova Scotia – New Scotland

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      June 20, 2010 7:38 pm

      Janet, I am so pleased that the parcel reached you safely and that you like it. I bet your mother’s recipe was a Scottish one. These days it is a treat for any of us to get something other than bills in the post, isn’t it? I am happy to think of our little Scottish goodies finding a new home in Nova Scotia.

Leave a Reply

