Skip to content

Normal service to be resumed shortly

April 22, 2010

Thanks to that blessed volcano, I have been off air (in more ways than one) for considerably longer than I anticipated. Thank you so much for continuing to check in on Dancing Beastie while I’ve been away. I’m not really properly back in service yet, however, and feel I owe you an explanation.

Last week we had our first ever family skiing holiday in the French Alps. It was glorious. Intense blue skies, jagged white mountains, fir trees, wooden chalets – perfect. The boys thoroughly enjoyed their first experience of skiing and their pa was delighted to be back on the piste after many years’ absence. As for me, I celebrated my forty-first birthday by taking up snowboarding! Please humour me and think of this as a mid-life adventure rather than a mid-life crisis. That’s the way I choose to think of it, anyway.

Since having children, my natural caution has grown more and more extreme until I began to feel I was becoming crusted over in a carapace of neurotic timidity. Before it got too late, I decided to break out and challenge myself to something new and slightly scary. Hence snowboarding. And guess what? I loved it! All that guff about doing something that scares you every day, setting new challenges for each decade et cetera – absolutely right. What a tremendous confidence boost, to test your physical capabilities, risk injury and, worse, looking like an idiot in front of your teenage niece, fall down, get up, try again and so on until you realise that you can actually do it on your own, trusting your body to have learned something new. It was, as I believe the youth of today are wont to say, such a rush.

However. While I was minding my own business on the slopes with my lovely instructor, two men skiied (sp?) straight into us. I was knocked unconscious despite (thank heavens) wearing a helmet. I can’t remember the accident or the rest of the day and I have been suffering from concussion ever since, it seems. I’m finding all mental and physical exertion absolutely exhausting and still have bad headaches ten days after the accident. So it’s off to see the doctor tomorrow to find out what’s going on (I did see a French medic on the day and an English osteopath at the weekend after our two-day coach trip across France, but things are still not right). So, I don’t want to bang on about my medical history, but I do just want to explain that this – holiday, accident and travel disruption –  is why Dancing Beastie has been so quiet, and why it may remain a little under the weather for a while longer until my mental faculties are properly up and running again. I’m finding it pretty hard to type coherent sentences at the moment, while any attempt at style escapes me altogether! But hey, the snowboarding was great.

Before I go, I haven’t forgotten the Tuesday tree. (One day I might even post it on a Tuesday.) Here is a beautiful, spreading English beech, photographed in my sister-in-law’s garden en route from France to Scotland at the beginning of the week. Daffodils and primroses underfoot and a swing hanging from the branches: a story-book tree on a perfect spring day.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2010 8:45 pm

    Ouch! Glad you’re (for the most part) OK!

    What an absolutely gorgeous tree. I love big old trees, they really are such an asset, and I love to see ones that are well tended and treated such as this one.

  2. April 22, 2010 8:50 pm

    Oh dear. And here I thought you were trapped in some exotic hell from the ash.
    I have had concussion – and it was a bit scary, yet fascinating at once. Completely understand the incoherency and headaches.

  3. April 22, 2010 9:30 pm

    Mon dieu! Carpe diem and all that, but do hope you’re ok!

  4. April 22, 2010 10:11 pm

    Poor you – how scary. Take care and be gentle with yourself. We won’t go away . . .

  5. April 22, 2010 10:35 pm

    Glad you pushed your boundaries but sorry to hear about the concussion. Take good care of yourself and give your body time to heal and DEFINITELY get checked out by your doctor! Thanks for the tree – beautiful! As are all the daffs! Take care!

  6. Wendy permalink
    April 22, 2010 11:47 pm

    Good for you to now be able to call yourself a snowboarder!
    Not good about the accident, but you certainly sound fine – hope your check up shows all is well. Take it easy.

  7. April 23, 2010 7:58 am

    owee – what a couple of weeks for you! A concussion can take quite a while to heal out. Hope your doctor has good news for you. You definitely need rest for to get better (hear that children? Your mum needs rest and sweet attention ;)! See you back when you’re better!

  8. dancingbeastie permalink
    April 23, 2010 3:29 pm

    Thank you all, very much, for your kind comments. The neurologist says I’ll live, just need to rest and to give it time. Not so easy with a young family but husband is doing what he can, so this snowboarding dude is off to bed while she has the chance!

  9. April 23, 2010 5:29 pm

    Dancingbeastie, so sorry to hear of your accident. Very challenging meeting the demands of children as well as trying to recover (and being a daredevil of a mother!). You articulate well considering your struggle for coherence!

  10. April 23, 2010 10:13 pm

    Poor you! Our good wishes for your full and speedy recovery are winging their way across the Minch to you.

  11. Val permalink
    October 11, 2011 1:30 am

    This is an absolutely gorgeous tree (and lovely to see the child – yours? – with the swing underneath.

    Hopefully all this time later, you are now recovered from your head injury.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      October 12, 2011 5:35 pm

      Isn’t it a wonderful tree. I love visiting it! Yes, that’s one of mine standing by the swing.

      Mostly recovered, thank you very much – a few lingering symptoms still keep me from feeling quite right, but I’m nearly there!

Trackbacks

  1. My Hysteria grandiflora is coming along nicely « Dancing Beastie
  2. late summer in the garden « Dancing Beastie
  3. Something on my mind « Dancing Beastie

Leave a Reply

