Skip to content

trees, interrupted

March 31, 2010

If there’s one thing we do well here at Castle Beastie, it’s trees. We seem to have a microclimate that trees love: through no merit of our own, they grow unusually well here. There are a number of British and European champion trees here (meaning verified as the tallest or widest in girth, or both). So I have been rather taken with the idea of more ‘tree’ posts for the arboreally deprived, as discussed in earlier comment threads. I was thinking of perhaps posting a ‘Tree for Tuesday’, starting yesterday. The trees, however, had other ideas.

Yesterday afternoon we had a power cut which lasted through into the late evening, putting paid to Dancing Beastie for the day. As we suspected from previous experience, it turned out to be caused by a tree falling on the power line! A massive Abies grandis (Grand Fir), which snapped through the middle like a matchstick in the high winds which we are experiencing.

not-so-Grand Fir

the cross-section of the trunk is as tall as my four-year old son

And early this morning, the electricity went off again, because of another tree, a spindly pine, falling across the newly-mended power line. I feel rather sorry for the engineers who have been shinning up and down our telegraph poles in their own version of groundhog day for the past twenty-four hours. Anyway, they have done a great job in getting us up and running again; so here is my tree post, a day late, and not as pretty as I’d hoped, being all about victims of the gales. I hope that the trees will prove more co-operative about future posts.

this morning's saboteur, uprooted

See also: trees, deconstructedlime blue

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 12:38 pm

    Oh those poor trees! And poor engineers and you too! There is something very sad about a felled tree – particularly an old felled tree. I look forward to weekly posts of TREES though!! It will be lovely see the changing seasons through the trees! You should apply for a grant to do this as you are helping maintain the health and wellbeing of those of us who don’t get a regular opportunity to see BIG trees! LOL!

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      April 1, 2010 1:41 pm

      Well, how could I let you islanders down after such a comment?! 🙂 Yes, I feel for the trees too. It’s always sad when one comes down. Anyway – deep breath – I will undertake to do my best, then, to post a tree a week, imminent school holiday mayhem permitting.

  2. April 1, 2010 9:19 pm

    I love your idea of a Tuesday Tree day. I don’t think anyone else has thought of that for a photo theme. it will be a nice change from all the flowers (not that I don’t love flowers…)

    I’m glad you like my header – you cannot believe how excited I was to see that sky, it really was that bright pink!
    I also have a photoblog (http://violetsky-sightlines.blogspot.com) if you are interested.

  3. April 15, 2010 11:52 am

    Its amazing that such a big tree could be blown down – no, no, I won’t go into reasons why this possible! It is still sad when it happens, but there is always the possibility there will be room for a new tree inj its space.

Trackbacks

  1. the Tuesday tree: planning for the future « Dancing Beastie

Leave a Reply

