Skip to content

The Blogosphere: not a parallel universe after all

March 29, 2010

Blogging sometimes feels like a parallel universe: real, absorbing, but set apart from ordinary life. So it was rather exciting to find my two worlds intersecting at the weekend. A couple of days ago I spent a very enjoyable afternoon at a farm open day, where various talented women were selling enticing goodies: cards, children’s clothes, vintage furniture and crafts. And how did I find out about this open day? Through a blog! Namely Vintage Squirrel (see link in margin), which sells various irresistible hand-crafted delights. It was great fun to meet a fellow blogger ‘in the flesh’. We agreed that perhaps we need to set up a local blogging support network, for ourselves and all the creative folk around who love to blog but who are, how shall we say, slightly less blessed in the technical department…

Anyway, my boys and I enjoyed a slice of delicious home-made sponge cake at the farm and came away with some good finds, including a fun pair of earrings for me, made from mother-of-pearl buttons by Katie of Vintage Squirrel. (I feel like a Steiff teddy bear in them, with the trademark ‘knopf im ohr’ or ‘button in ear’; but that’s fine, as I’ve always had a very soft spot for teddy bears.) And I’d never have known about the day if it hadn’t been for Katie advertising it on her blog. Proof that blogs really do have a bearing (sorry) on real life.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2010 9:30 pm

    Good heavens to Betsy, I’ve been commented on by a member of the aristocracy! I’ve just read your “moving into a castle” bit and, right enough, had never considered what this might be like. I can see that moving your mother-in-law’s favourite picture would be a bit tricky. I have to say, though, judging by that picture of rolling lawns, I might be prepared to swap my smallish house (with extension) with small but beloved garden for your castle. When I was little, I was going to marry Prince Charles (he’s a couple of years older than me) and now, when I see pictures of Highgrove, I wish I’d made more effort to secure him. I’m sure I’d have suited him more than Diana, though possibly not more than Camilla. I wouldn’t have like the shooting of furry beasts, though. And I’m more a cat-lover than a dog person.

    Anyway. Nice to meet you.

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      March 30, 2010 10:45 am

      Not aristocracy, just ‘a gentleman’s daughter’, as Eliza Bennett would say – which is enough. Thanks for visiting!

  2. March 30, 2010 12:46 pm

    It was great to meet you on Saturday. I have read some of your lovely blog and look forward to more of it! I will leave comments as I work my way through it. This morning I too posted about the open day. Thank you so much for your kind words!

  3. March 31, 2010 2:18 pm

    Hello again!
    Love your earrings……would llike to see them in an ear though as it’s a little hard for me to understand what’s up or down….!
    Isn’t it lovely with hand crafted things?
    I couldn’t get inte the blog Vintage Squirrel, but I’ll try later!
    Hej fran
    Agneta

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      March 31, 2010 6:49 pm

      Hi Agneta, try the link to Vintage Squirrel on the right-hand side of the page – hope it will work!

Leave a Reply

