Skip to content

yogi tea and the path to enlightenment

March 10, 2010

Today’s words of wisdom come from the tag on a teabag. It was only two or three cups of tea ago that I noticed that each teabag of ‘Yogi Tea’ has a little mantra on it. Isn’t that great? Baby steps to enlightenment along with a delicious cup of ayurvedic tea!

‘Love what is ahead by loving what has come before.’

This is good advice for all of us, but I find it particularly appropriate for someone trying to run a family home in a castle weighed down by history and by the accumulated treasures and detritus of generations of predecessors. Extraordinary though this place is, sometimes I have to remind myself to love it, not to see it just as a burden. So, thanks, Yogi Tea.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2010 6:18 pm

    Good idea with mantra on teabags!
    How about swapping houses for a while when you’re weighed down….???
    I’d love a castle in Scotland, the dream of romance to me……! but I guess I can imagine the burden, too!
    I was missing you there for a while!
    Love
    Agneta

  2. dancingbeastie permalink
    March 10, 2010 6:30 pm

    Hi Agneta,

    well, it’s nice to be missed, thanks!

    A castle in Scotland is a burden AND a dream of romance. I know how lucky I am. Even romantic dream castles get dirty windows though…! For me, a cottage in the forest in Sweden, eating wild blueberries for breakfast, swimming in the lake – that sounds pretty romantic (maybe to you too).

    I suppose the important thing is, if your dream becomes mundane reality, not to forget what made it a dream in the first place.

  3. March 10, 2010 9:02 pm

    Hello again!
    Well, yes, that’s probably the way it is.
    Actually I live in a blueberry and mushroom forest with the sea next to it, so this is pretty good, too!
    I’m baking bread right now so I’d better be going!
    Talk to you more, soon!
    Agneta

  4. March 27, 2010 9:21 pm

    I shall have to remember the castle when I feel burdened by my small house renovation! Right now, I could be tempted by a cottage in a mushroom and blueberry forest by the sea. Perhaps I need to shift my focus a little and see the charm of my little cottage full of looms on this Cape sticking out into the ocean. Soon, perhaps it will begin to feel charming!

    I am so happy I ran into this small post & the above comments. Thank you!!

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      March 28, 2010 5:18 pm

      Good to have you here, Lynne. I have left a reply on your own blog – in your cottage by the ocean!

Leave a Reply

