Skip to content

have a heart: Valentine’s Day cake

February 14, 2010

Valentine’s Day is all about love, of course. Or is it sex? Or is it, when we get down to basics, about chocolate? Sometimes it gets hard to distinguish. When there are children around the focus gets even blurrier (and the middle option can go out of focus completely). This is brilliantly summarized by the consistently funny cartoonist Jacky Fleming, in her book ‘Falling in Love’ which I’ve had since my angry student days:

‘There is some confusion over which is sex and which is love but on the whole sex is less confusing than love, lust is less confusing than sex and chocolate is less confusing than any of them.

‘Sex is when chocolate won’t do. Love is when sex won’t do. And lust is when almost anyone will do. Chocolate is by far the safest bet in every respect but sex is by far the most interesting.

‘Love is what makes people forget to use contraceptives. Or is that sex? Anyway, love produces babies and then you can forget the sex and the lust.’

Well, I couldn’t possibly comment. But I do know that I am extraordinarily blessed to be able to celebrate this Valentine’s Day with my true love, and with our children, and with chocolate. Especially the chocolate. (Just kidding.) Therefore, I give you: Heart-shaped, gooey, sugary (in every sense) chocolate cake, made with the help of my two small assistants.

licking the bowls

ready to bake

the end result

Happy Valentine’s Day.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2010 2:02 pm

    I’ve just caught up on all your wonderful heart posts. This one is a hoot! Those photos bring back memories of ‘helping’ my mom and gran in the kitchen when i was a child. I was there with my wee finger at the ready for any taste tests. Oh, and at the end for clean-up… bowls, spoons, spatulas, beaters …that was my job. When i look back on all those weekend and holiday marathon baking sessions, well it brings a smile to my heart…as did your post. Your cake looks scrumptious. Happy Valentine’s Day. 🙂 Lizzy

  2. February 14, 2010 5:38 pm

    Thank you for your comments, Lizzy, and for visiting. It’s lovely to get some feedback! I’m glad to know that you are still visiting blogland – got a bit worried when I saw that you were taking a break from yours (although I love your photography site too). There’s nothing like chocolate cake to bring volunteers running to the kitchen, is there?! I remember ‘helping’ my mum too – good memories.

Trackbacks

  1. happiness is cake in the garden « Dancing Beastie
  2. A Valentine for an Ent?* « Dancing Beastie
  3. Sports Day: if motherhood is a race, I think I came last « Dancing Beastie

Leave a Reply

