Skip to content

my obscure object of desire

November 4, 2009

…is wellies. Specifically, these gorgeous Ilse Jacobsen lace-up wellies, which I have been coveting since first spotting them in a fab little boutique (Archangel) in Edinburgh about 4 years ago. Finally got my very own pair today and feel like I have joined some sort of exclusive club, or maybe cult. After wearing them to walk the dogs, I dashed to nursery to collect younger son without changing, and I got so many comments about them – all good! Think I may have become the local evangelist for the cult. new wellies

It is a cliche that the Danes are good at designing things to be both practical and stylish, but I really think it’s true. On holiday in Denmark this summer, we saw countless examples. They also seem to have a more adventurous sense of colour than the Brits. I was wryly amused to see that Ilse Jacobsen makes these boots in all sorts of juicy colours – orange, blue, cream, lime – but that only black and brown seem to be available in Britain. It makes good marketing sense, too. I love the idea of striding along a beach in Jutland in lime green wellies, with the wind ruffling my spiky white blonde hair. But actually, in rural Perthshire with my mousy British locks stuffed under a woolly bunnet, I feel much more comfortable in the safe but still gorgeous chocolate brown ones. Yum.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2009 12:46 pm

    Belatedly . . . just wanted to say that I’m so pleased you found a pair! Three years or so, mine are still going strong, unlike some well-known UK brands, which invariably split within a year. Hope you had fun kicking up the now-almost-gone leaves.

    • dancingbeastie permalink
      November 22, 2009 9:27 pm

      Thank you – I was wearing them yesterday to help feed the reindeer herd on Cairn Gorm, and the Sami girl in charge clocked them immediately! Must be a Nordic thing.

Leave a Reply

