Skip to content

Happy Eastertide!

April 16, 2017

In my previous post I mentioned the Easter Vigil and the lighting of the new light. A mere, ahem, two and half months after I wrote that, here we are at Easter Day. There are sheep in the fields, daffodils blazing like Handel’s Hallelujah trumpets in the grass, and an embarrassment of chocolate eggs in our kitchen thanks to the generosity of Granny, our parish priest and the fairies (not the bunny) at the bottom of the garden.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I hope you have had a happy Easter; but it doesn’t stop at the end of the bank holiday.  Indeed I hope your Easter continues to be blessed for, ooh, the next forty-nine days at least: Eastertide in the Church lasts for fifty days!

 

You might enjoy: On Easter, humility and…um…cake.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Toffeeapple permalink
    April 17, 2017 12:11 am

    How lovely to have your post pop up in my in box, such a treat. I do hope that Easter was all that you wanted it to be. We, of little faith, have no such certainty but I do not envy you.

    I shall be in Ayrshire in two weeks time and I am SO excited. In December, in Argyll, I discovered that the whisky distillers are now selling such delicious gins that I have had to set a budget! Happy Days.

    Your vista of sheep and Daffodils is so pleasant, thank you.

    • April 17, 2017 11:55 am

      Hello again, thanks very much for writing. I hope you have a great time in Ayrshire. There are any number of distilleries, big and tiny, now pouring out artisan gins as fast as they can bottle them. Happy days indeed for gin lovers – and yes, potentially rather dangerous! Cheers!

  2. boyd hussey permalink
    April 17, 2017 1:44 am

    …risen indeed!

  3. aduke2015 permalink
    April 17, 2017 9:52 am

    Thank you for your joyous photo and thoughts

  4. Erika W. permalink
    April 19, 2017 1:56 pm

    It is always good when you touch ground here again. and leave us with good thoughts.

  5. Erika W. permalink
    April 22, 2017 10:58 am

    Please never apologize. Your blog is like an unexpected rain shower on dry earth; a lovely surprise when it comes and such surprises are among the little joys of life. While on the surface your life sounds enviable your readers know quite a bit of what you have battled with and I think of you more than you may guess and do hope that everything is well for you, especially your health. I have sometimes thought of writing to you privately but know that this would be the invasion of privacy that blogging could lay you open to. Anyway, I send you a hug from an old woman, through the airwaves

    • April 23, 2017 11:39 pm

      Bless you for your kindness and understanding, Erika! I hope you are doing OK too – and thanks so much.

  6. Catherine Cooke permalink
    June 29, 2017 12:19 am

    Hope all is well with you and your family and that you are enjoying the summer. How is the gardening coming along? If I remember correctly you were going to be the gardener this year. Catherine

  7. Alison Ashfield permalink
    December 8, 2018 6:01 pm

    Dear Dancing Beastie, I thought of you today, whilst reading the Dundee Courier. I read it every Saturday, I am in Angus and delight in its’ blend of local interest and gentle ‘ignore Beastly Brexit, the Yemen, Zimbabwe and other international disasters, a young lady from Arbroath has donated her glorious auburn pigtails for the ‘Little Princess Trust’. On page 20, a sweet chestnut tree (not a workaday horse- despite the conkers, an annual delight) near Murthly has been identified as the 15,000th specimen on the Ancient Tree Inventory. I like to think it is one belonging to DB and famille, plus assorted dogs. I do miss your elegant postings, but the combination of boys, Castle, husband and estate must eat into your time. It is the Saturday before the second Sunday of Advent. A hopeful, hygge time. Have the happiest of family Christmases, DB. Maybe you’ll write sometime and cast an extra shaft of intuitive soft light into our lives. Best wishes, Alison.

    • October 7, 2019 8:55 pm

      What lovely thoughts and wishes, Alison. Thank you very much indeed, I’m very touched (and I love your take on the Courier!).

  8. September 3, 2019 9:44 pm

    Hope all in your life is just busy and not any other reason you stopped posting… i so miss your posts… my one trip to the Highlands made me fall in love and feel as if it were HOME so I miss any connection… sending all good thoughts to you and your family!

    • October 7, 2019 8:53 pm

      Thank you for your very kind comments. All is well, it’s just that life has rather eclipsed blogging for me these days. But I will always feel affection and hugely gratitude to the lovely online community I met through Dancing Beastie.

  9. June 13, 2022 4:48 pm

    just checking in… i watched an episode of Landward last night and it reminded me of your blog… have missed the wonderful posts you did. hope all is well

Leave a comment