Skip to content

Instant sunshine

September 6, 2012

‘What a sad, dark summer this has been,’ I say to my six-year-old son as we sit at the kitchen table over tea. ‘Grandad died, our dog died, and it’s been day after day of rain.’

He begins rootling through a drawer, looking for yellow paper. Scissors next, snippets of colour falling from his hands. As I sit lost in shadow, his idea takes shape with paper and glue.

‘Look, Mummy!’ beams my son, holding up his creation.

‘I’ve made you a sun!’

 

 

You might enjoy What are little boys made of?

 

21 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2012 4:45 pm

    That’s so sweet. Poor you (and your family), you’ve been through so much recently.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      September 6, 2012 6:38 pm

      Well, yes, we do feel like we could use a break, although everyone has dark times in their lives of course. I am so lucky to have this sunny little chap around to cheer me up!

  2. Helva (Julia) permalink
    September 6, 2012 5:59 pm

    Bless him – what a thoughtful little chap. Such an awful year won’t happen again, we pray (are you listening up there, please?), although it’s not always easy to ‘look on the bright side of life’, is it. All good wishes for better years to come (as a one-time teacher I often still think of academic years rather than calendar ones!)

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      September 6, 2012 6:41 pm

      Thank you very much – all prayers gratefully received! Yes, he’s a blessing indeed. Funnily enough I still think in academic years too, which is one of the reasons I like autumn, with its breath of new beginnings.

  3. hmunro permalink
    September 6, 2012 6:46 pm

    You’ve indeed had a sad, dark summer, DB … but I’m glad there are still glimpses of sunshine (even if they’re man-made / boy-made). What a lovely gesture. Please tell your lovely little chap that he brightened my day, too, all the way across the Atlantic. xo

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      September 6, 2012 11:21 pm

      I’m very glad that the sunbeams reached you across the pond. There are plenty to go around. :)

  4. September 6, 2012 8:30 pm

    Aww, bless him. :-) With a sunny little character like that to lighten your life I hope you’ll come through these dark days before too long, DB.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      September 6, 2012 11:22 pm

      Thank you. He is one of our many blessings, so we will come through.

  5. September 7, 2012 8:28 am

    What a thoughtful little son you have :-) Jo

  6. southern gal permalink
    September 8, 2012 2:58 am

    what a sweetie!!!!

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      September 17, 2012 5:35 pm

      I know! :)

  7. September 11, 2012 2:07 am

    Looks like you’ve got a keeper there! Funny how kids just cut through and come up with the most unexpected/best solutions.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      September 17, 2012 5:36 pm

      Hah, I love that expression, ‘you’ve got a keeper there’. Yeah, I think we might hold on to this one. ;)

  8. September 13, 2012 9:13 pm

    Sounds like he’s a big hug of sunshine.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      September 17, 2012 5:36 pm

      Aw, another wonderful turn of phrase!

  9. September 14, 2012 7:44 am

    I imagine you’ll keep and treasure that creation for the rest of your life.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      September 17, 2012 5:37 pm

      I should, shouldn’t I? To remind me of my little ray of sunshine.

  10. September 18, 2012 8:58 pm

    a small warm hand in the darkest days. What a delight and how fortunate are we, mothers of sons.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      September 18, 2012 11:00 pm

      Yes, yes, aren’t we blessed.

Trackbacks

  1. Validation « Dancing Beastie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 282 other followers

