Skip to content

The Tuesday tree: Tree Girl

June 14, 2011

Today’s tree is a very special one. It is a recent import to Castle Beastie, having winged its way from Edinburgh only a few days ago, and it has a story behind it.

A couple of weeks ago, I had a good moan here about my head injury. The responses that came in were just the best medicine one could hope for, full of support, empathy, practical wisdom and kindness. They left me feeling touched and hugely grateful for having met such a lovely group of readers online. Thank you all so much! As if that weren’t enough, I then got a message from Linda at Occasional Scotland, saying that she had something to send me to cheer me up. ‘I hope you’ll see,’ wrote Linda, ‘how it shows that your creative power with words is still strong and delights your readers.’ Linda had spotted this picture in the window at Edinburgh Printmakers. She had to do a little detective work to track down the artist, and a little more to find out how to get a print to me. But she managed it, and I just love it. Linda, thank you again for such a thoughtful and generous gesture. I wanted to share it with everyone else today, as this must be the quintessential Dancing Beastie picture. Ladies and gentleman, by the artist Mina Braun, here is ‘Tree Girl’.

When my husband saw it, he smiled and said, ‘Perfect: a tree and a girl with a sore head.’ Well, yes, I do see what he means. To me, though, the girl’s ‘halo’ is sunshine, or inspiration, or nurture. I love the way the tree grows out of her, part of her yet with its own flourishing life. Superficially simple, this is one of those pictures in which one can see different meanings with every encounter. I will treasure it.

You can see a little more of Mina Braun’s enchanting art here. Her work has a folkloric quality which greatly appeals to me. Scottish readers might also like to know that Mina is having a solo exhibition in Edinburgh at The Red Door Gallery from June 30th to July 28th.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. hmunro permalink
    June 14, 2011 3:56 pm

    What a lovely post — and what a lovely gesture on Linda’s part! I absolutely *love* the print! It’s full of symbolism and therefore open to interpretation: I see the golden orb as the sun’s light, surrounding you with healing energy as you embrace nature.

    And that’s my hope for you, DB: That each day will bring you more healing and more strength. As Tolkien wrote, “You can only come to the morning through the shadows.” I’ll be thinking of you today, and hoping that you’ll get good news. A big hug goes out to you …

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      June 14, 2011 10:22 pm

      Ah, thank you, what lovely thoughts. Your sweet words made me a little tearful after a long day. But all is well, or will be, I think.

    • March 13, 2014 8:01 am

      I love the print, and I love the quote from Tolkien.

  2. June 14, 2011 4:47 pm

    I see artwork like this and so wish I could draw or paint. It’s simple and yet perfect, and speaks strongly to me. Trees have been so important to me in the healing process, such a place of peace, and here that relationship is explained eloquently.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      June 14, 2011 11:04 pm

      Isn’t it lovely – I’m glad you see it too. And of course you, too, are in a beautiful part of the world, where stepping outside your door is therapy in itself. I hope your trees continue to give you strength and comfort when you need it.

  3. Erika W. permalink
    June 14, 2011 7:49 pm

    I am so pleased for you that you received such a beautiful present. I hope it will be inspiration and comfort to you always in the discouraging times.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      June 14, 2011 11:06 pm

      How very open-hearted your comments are – thank you, and good wishes as always.

  4. June 15, 2011 11:00 am

    What a beautiful and intriguing print, one you will always see something new in. Even more beautiful is the kindness and empathy of the giver. That is truly to be treasured.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      June 15, 2011 11:05 pm

      Indeed, it was a lovely thing to do.

  5. June 15, 2011 6:31 pm

    A lovely print and so thoughtful a gesture. Trees are known for their sacred or spiritual value, I’m sure your beloved trees will help you through. I forget to chexck you regularly but am always enchanted when I come back to discover several lovely posts. Right now we are enjoying blooming trees and just yesterday I saw the only hawthorn around here just covered in a foam of blossoms – I am waiting and checking the known spots for Mountain Laurel, a beautiful shrub of the same family as rhodies and azaleas but of a far more subtle nature. Less subtle but striking are the huge drifts of lupins that take over rough ground along the roadsides in Nova Scotia, and of course the Mountain Ash are in full bloom right now.
    Thank you for your beautifully written and sensitive posts on nature – I ook so forward to them!!!

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      June 15, 2011 11:10 pm

      It’s always good to hear from you, Janet! I’m interested to hear that, from what you say, Scotland and Nova Scotia are at about the same stage of Spring. We are maybe a week or two ahead, that’s all: our hawthorn and rowan are just past their best now, but the lupins are out. Wild lupins grow en masse on the river banks here, and never fail to cheer when they flower. Thanks for introducing me to Mountain Laurel: I googled it as I have never come across it before. It looks absolutely lovely.

  6. Margaret Lambert permalink
    June 16, 2011 7:56 pm

    Your posts and the comments are always a pleasure to read, they are reciprocal gifts. And how very thoughtful of Linda to recognize something which would so clearly relate to you, as a reminder of your gift to your readers. The print is a wonderful memento.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      June 16, 2011 9:09 pm

      That is a charming thing to say, Margaret. Thank you. I’m sure Linda is feeling self-conscious at the attention, but yes, it really was an incredibly thoughtful and generous gift.

  7. June 20, 2011 8:32 pm

    Oh this is lovely! What a great find of Linda’s. Art can be very inspiring in all sorts of ways – hope this piece helps you further on your road to recovery.

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      June 21, 2011 12:14 pm

      Absolutely. Thank you for your kind wishes.

  8. June 26, 2011 11:33 am

    I love your new emblem. It is very “you” :-)

    • dancingbeastie permalink*
      June 26, 2011 12:00 pm

      Good, thank you! I love it too, it’s very special.

Trackbacks

  1. A twelvemonth of images « Dancing Beastie
  2. An anniversary: three years on | Dancing Beastie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 240 other followers

